Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My husband thought this recipe was okay, but I didn't like it. I used 2 T of seasoning and Bush's canned peas. It was too salty - I would recommend using 1T of seasoning and adding cayenne pepper to increase flavor and decrease salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this to up hold the New Years Black Eye Pea tradition. What a geat dish!! I did double the creole and added chilli pepper, I liked the kick. I also used ground turkey instead of the beef, and chopped garlic in place of garlic powder. It made a lot of food, and everyone was pleasantly surprised that Black Eye Peas can actually taste good! Thanks for the recipe, can't wait to have leftovers today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I've been making this for years. Try adding some Eckridge sausage to it cut into bit size pieces. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Always looking for ways to get my 2 year old to eat veggies and this one was a hit! We like a lot of flavor, so I added an extra tsp of creole seasoning and doubled the garlic powder, used the canned black-eyed peas that are seasoned with bacon and added two crumbled up slices of bacon left from breakfast. My daughter declared it "DEE-lisus!" so what more could I ask for?? LOL! Will cut the ingredients in half next time, because this made a TON of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
tasty, easy, healthy - this is what I love in a recipe. I too added a bit of minced garlic to the beef, onions, and pepper during browning. just a nice overall mix of flavors and textures. for one helping i squirted some lime juice over my bowl (I don't know why) and I thought that tasted pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Made this for new years day. No one really cared that much for it until we took SSink's advice, and added the salsa on top...then everyone thought it was great. Served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was great! We ate this dish with filet mignon, so I omitted the ground beef. Also, because my kids were also eating this, I scaled back the Cajun seasoning to 2 teaspoons. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Great for New Years Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I thought this was really good. The only thing is that I added a lot to it. I added to minced garlic cloves in the beginning. I also put at least 2 TB of creole and almost 1TB of chili powder. I would give it five stars if it weren't for the blandness I tasted before adding to it. I also used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
pretty good, very filling, needed garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States