Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
It was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
a lot like dirty rice, and the black-eyed peas were a great addition. Did not change a thing. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I added a can of tomatoes with green chilies and lots of cayenne pepper. I don't think it would have been as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This dish is delicious! I don't add the ground beef, kick up the cajun seasoning and serve it as a side dish. It's a real hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
We really like this. Very easy to make. I used Onion Powder and doubled the Garlic. I also added some Worcestershire sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was superb! I used up some leftover taco meat with this recipe; I wasn't sure how the flavors would mix, but the result was delicious. Just like my grandmother makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Wow! This is delicious (if you don't mind hot spicy food). Wouldn't change a thing but maybe cut seasoning in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This dish had a lot of flavor and turned out well. I used brown rice, however, and upped the cooking time. Next time, I'm going to add more water if I use brown rice, because the extra cooking time did dry it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiedidbug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I thought this was a very good, very easy dish to whip up and not only that but everyone ate it. I did add a bit more spice on the advice of the other reviews. I also added canned diced tomato, gotta get those veggies in any way you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I love one dish meals but some how the great creole flavor got lost in the other flavors resulting in a pretty bland dish with less than spectacular texture. I ended up sauteeing in 2 diced garlic cloves and 2 teaspoons diced fresh jalepeno, substituting the water with chicken broth (I used ground chicken + tbsp oil instead of beef) and adding extra paprika and 2 different chili powders before I thought it was a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States