Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Only 3 stars because I'm from Texas and love it hot and spicy, so that said, I added not only three stalks of celery and three carrots, but "slap your mama hot" cajun spice and plain cayenne as well as chili powder (prob 3T+) and 1 large jalepeno. I used chicken stock vs. water and did add several dashes of Louisiana hot sauce. I added more stock and then thickened with powdered cajun roux. Also added fresh garlic 4 cloves. It's tasting pretty flavorful now, but need alot for my Cajun/Mexican palette. Mexican Cornbread in oven to accompany my New Year's Eve lucky feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Very good dish. I made mine a with brown rice instead of white and frozen black-eye peas and it still came out delicious. I'm not a huge fan of creole dishes but this was one was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
It was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
a lot like dirty rice, and the black-eyed peas were a great addition. Did not change a thing. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I added a can of tomatoes with green chilies and lots of cayenne pepper. I don't think it would have been as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This dish is delicious! I don't add the ground beef, kick up the cajun seasoning and serve it as a side dish. It's a real hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
We really like this. Very easy to make. I used Onion Powder and doubled the Garlic. I also added some Worcestershire sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was superb! I used up some leftover taco meat with this recipe; I wasn't sure how the flavors would mix, but the result was delicious. Just like my grandmother makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Wow! This is delicious (if you don't mind hot spicy food). Wouldn't change a thing but maybe cut seasoning in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This dish had a lot of flavor and turned out well. I used brown rice, however, and upped the cooking time. Next time, I'm going to add more water if I use brown rice, because the extra cooking time did dry it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiedidbug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States