Creme de Menthe Grasshopper Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Just a comment on the crust. Homemade Oreo crust is WAY superior in taste compared to the store brought crust. IMHO store brought crust just lacks in taste & texture. Once you compare the two, you'll see what I mean. For a homemade crust you Just need to crush about 24 regular oreos in a food processor and had about 1/4 c melted butter to help keep it together. That's it. A very easy step that will improve your end result greatly. Also a springform pan is a MUST to cut & serve the pie. I used to make it in a glass pie plate and the crust would freeze like a rock to the bottom. The springform pan is a lifesaver! I also drizzle a little Magic Shell topping in chocolate over the top.. My mom has been making this same recipe for at least 25 years and it NEVER fails to impress. A classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
We have enjoyed this recipe in our family for years. When I make this, I use a 9x13 pan and make sure I freeze it for 24 hours. To make the whip cream quickly and stiff enough, I freeze a metal bowl and use a stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I was able to make this a little quicker using my Kitchen Aid mixer, I just chilled my bowl beforehand and used my whipping attachment. I also bent the ingredients just a touch. I did NOT have Creme De Menthe, I had Dekuyper's Peppermint Schapps so I used that instead. So easy it should be illegal. The end result was almost like eating peppermint bark in pie form. This pie is off the hook. Unbelievable. We absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This pie was awesome!! To make it easier, I used a prepared oreo crust. To make it healtier, I used low fat cool whip instead of whipping cream. To make it thick, I added one envelope of unflavored gelatin, softened in 1 tablespoon of very hot water. We liked it best frozen. This is definitely a keeper, and I will be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I would not cut back on the creme de menthe as one reviewer suggested - you wouldn't even taste it then. 1/4 cup is not much as it is. If you don't want kids to eat it then have something else for them - the kids at our party had ice cream, the adults ate the pie and that was only because they were toddlers. I would also not use cool whip as the sweetness would be too much. Real whipped cream was perfect. Follow the recipe and you will like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda M.
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I used Thin Mint cookies for the crust instead of Oreo's. I like it minty!! It was fantastic. I took it to a friend's dinner party and it was the hit of the night. It was hard keeping the kids away from it, but the adults weren't about to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Awesome!!! I only used about an eighth of a cup or more, instead of a fourth of a cup, of cream de menthe, and I think it was a lot better that way. I also put some of the crushed oreos in the mixture itself to seem more like an oreo mint ice cream filling. The kids loved it too. This will become a tradition for us on Christmas. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Oh man, is this a tasty treat! Although I cheated and used an already cookie pie crust, it was really easy to make. If you're sensitive to having your kids eat something with liquor in it, I suggest trying another minty mix in. But if you're like me and you're mainly making it for yourself, you'll enjoy the taste the Creme de Mint gives it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I like this recipe for its ease. The marshmallow fluff takes a whole step out of the rest of the recipes (melting marshmallows in milk) and the kids loved it!! Wanted to know when I was putting the grasshoppers in though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This pie was amazing! I meant to serve it to everyone in my household to brag about my kitchen skills but ended up eating most of it myself. I used the recommended 1/4 cup of creme de menthe. The flavor was good but I would probably use a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States