Creme de Menthe Grasshopper Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Oh man, is this a tasty treat! Although I cheated and used an already cookie pie crust, it was really easy to make. If you're sensitive to having your kids eat something with liquor in it, I suggest trying another minty mix in. But if you're like me and you're mainly making it for yourself, you'll enjoy the taste the Creme de Mint gives it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Other crust alternatives include using Oreo cookie crumbs and 1.5 tbsp of melted butter, or for individual desserts I use ready made dark chocolate cups. Either way this is an awesome dessert for anyone who likes mint and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I like this recipe for its ease. The marshmallow fluff takes a whole step out of the rest of the recipes (melting marshmallows in milk) and the kids loved it!! Wanted to know when I was putting the grasshoppers in though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This would be easy to prepare (and I'm sure, would have been delicious), if I had an electric mixer. WORD TO THE WISE: don't try to whip cream by hand. It is torture. For me, this recipe didn't work because, without the whipped cream to fold in (my friends and I whipped it manually for 25 minutes and still ended up with liquid) I had to substitute cool whip... and it tasted weird and kind of strong. Also, the filling never froze, it oozed. I had to finally just put this in a bowl and top it with ice cream, which was fine... but not a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Awesome!!! I only used about an eighth of a cup or more, instead of a fourth of a cup, of cream de menthe, and I think it was a lot better that way. I also put some of the crushed oreos in the mixture itself to seem more like an oreo mint ice cream filling. The kids loved it too. This will become a tradition for us on Christmas. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Fast and easy to make, and really refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This pie was awesome!! To make it easier, I used a prepared oreo crust. To make it healtier, I used low fat cool whip instead of whipping cream. To make it thick, I added one envelope of unflavored gelatin, softened in 1 tablespoon of very hot water. We liked it best frozen. This is definitely a keeper, and I will be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I would not cut back on the creme de menthe as one reviewer suggested - you wouldn't even taste it then. 1/4 cup is not much as it is. If you don't want kids to eat it then have something else for them - the kids at our party had ice cream, the adults ate the pie and that was only because they were toddlers. I would also not use cool whip as the sweetness would be too much. Real whipped cream was perfect. Follow the recipe and you will like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This pie was very easy to make. I just didn't like it. It had that liquor wang to it, like I just took a straight shot of creme de menthe. I believe if you cut back on the creme de menth, you couldn't taste any mint. My girlfriend said she liked it pretty well, but I don't think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
The suggestions to reduce the creme de menthe was right on. I used half and it was plenty. It had very little color, so I added a few drops of green food coloring. Garnished with fresh mint for Easter consumption. Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States