Creme de Menthe Grasshopper Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is SO yummy and very easy to prepare! Takes me back to when I was little and my parents took me to the Wolfboro Inn. Thats when I first tried grasshopper pie..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This is my husbands absolute favorite dessert. I have used a recipe nearly identical to this for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is melt-in-your-mouth good. Caution, though, for people who are used to eating "clean". This is chock-full of corn syrup. I don't feed my family much corn syrup, nor do I eat it. I decided to live it up for my party, and not worry about it...REGRET that decision!! So, if you think that you are sensitive to corn syrup, I would suggest finding, or creating a different recipe. (My kids want me to come up with one without the liquor for them. Maybe I'll just make it a healthier version for everyone.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was pretty good, but after tasting the filling I felt that it lacked "mintiness", if that's even a word, so I topped it with both the oreo crumbs and chopped up grasshopper cookies. I made this in an 11x7 pan and it worked out perfectly. Everyone seemed to enjoy it, but I don't know if I'd make it again. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made this for Christmas and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Just a comment on the crust. Homemade Oreo crust is WAY superior in taste compared to the store brought crust. IMHO store brought crust just lacks in taste & texture. Once you compare the two, you'll see what I mean. For a homemade crust you Just need to crush about 24 regular oreos in a food processor and had about 1/4 c melted butter to help keep it together. That's it. A very easy step that will improve your end result greatly. Also a springform pan is a MUST to cut & serve the pie. I used to make it in a glass pie plate and the crust would freeze like a rock to the bottom. The springform pan is a lifesaver! I also drizzle a little Magic Shell topping in chocolate over the top.. My mom has been making this same recipe for at least 25 years and it NEVER fails to impress. A classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I used to make this years ago and lost the recipe. Similar recipes I tried never seemed as good, so I was happy to find this. So simple and always impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I made this pie filing without the crust and layered it with Chocolate Mousse - TO DIE FOR! Everyone was so impressed. Perfect coupling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maliforte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Family gobbled it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Good but it didn't set up enough until it froze for 24 hours. Maybe I didn't beat the whipping cream enough, or too much? I agree with some reviewers that say add more creme de menthe, just a bit more. To save time I used a prepared Oreo crust. I'll also try adding green food coloring for better color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States