Creme de Menthe Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
This was YUMMY & SIMPLE! We liked it frozen. If you like Girl Scout Thin Mint Cookies you'll love this! Don't be afraid of the Creme de Mente liqueur. It is very mild in flavor, you can't detect the alcohol. I used Dark Chocolate Syrup. Chocolate + mint---what more could you want! This one's a keeper! Thanks Bonnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Excellent!! I followed someone else's advice & used Hot Fudge instead of chocolate syrup, very good idea. I used clear creme de menthe, so mine had a nice "winter" look to it. A great desert if you want something light after a big meal. Just the right amount of sweetness. Next time I think I'll try it with a chocolate cake mix as someone also suggested- I'm a chocoholic & I think it'll be great that way too. A definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I made this for St. Patrick's Day and it was great. I followed another reviewer's suggestion of using hot fudge sauce instead of chocolate syrup. If you use clear Creme de Menthe, add a few drops of green food coloring to the cake mix and whip topping for festive color. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This is always a big hit, sometimes I substitute Hot Fudge instead of Chocolate Syrup. JOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful516

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I have made this on countless occasions and it is so simple, foolproof, and NEVER disappoints! I call it my "Grasshopper Cake" and it always gets requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Thank you for a wonderful and easy recipe. I hate to bake, but I needed something for ST. Paddy's day bake sale. This was an absolute hit. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
The cake was really moist and the minty cool whip made it refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Made this cake for St. Patrick's Day. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I use dark chocolate cake mix. I also substitute 1 jar of fudge (you can find it near other ice cream toppings at your super market) for the can of chocolate syrup. Just soften the fudge in your microwave for easy spreading. Eveyone that's tried it LOVES it and can't believe how easy it is to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
Following the recipe with the white cake and syrup I wasn't impressed, so have to give it a 3 star rating that way. However, following other reviews I used a chocolate cake with hot fudge ice cream topping (Hershey's)instead of chocolate syrup, and this was much better. The guys I made it for, (using chocolate cake and fudge) loved it. If you want to make the "Baptist" version use Peppermint extract instead. BTW, for those worried about the alcohol, it dissipates with heating leaving only the flavor, and you can always use peppermint extract for the topping if you are worried about children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States