Creme de Menthe Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
So easy, and one of the best cakes I have ever eaten! I used chocolate fudge cake. The recipe called for 1 1/3 cups water, so I substituted 1/3c Creme de Menthe for the 1/3c water. Used a jar of Hersheys hot fudge topping, didn't change anything else. Very hard to stick with "one small piece" when you make this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I made this recipe for my kids last year for St Patrick's day & they loved it! I lost my recipe & had to relocate it on Allrecipes. Can't wait to make it again! My husband & I liked it too, we aren't big on mint cake. Very moist & light. This will go in my recipe book. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Easy and delicious! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beginnerchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
To tell you the truth, I have never made this cake using white cake mix! Being the chocolate lover that I am I always make it with a homemade chocolate cake recipe I have. (I'm sure a boxed choc. would be fine) Last time we made cupcakes and wow...were they good! I use hot fudge as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Wonderful! I actually made it twice in one week! Made the first with the syrup, as I had that on hand, and the next one with hot fudge topping. Personally I liked the syrup, but my friends preferred the hot fudge topping. Either way it was great. Tastes like a Thin Mint cookie, but in a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sullivan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This cake is very good, but its even better right out of the freezer. My gang loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Awesome cake!! I made it for St. Patrick's Day and it not only looked festive but it tasted great. My husband said "Wow - this is one of the best desserts you've ever made"! Thanks, Bonnie! P.S. I did follow others' advice and used warmed-up hot fudge instead of chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I make this cake quite often, just a little differently. I follow the directions for the white cake mix and add 1/4 cup creme de menthe syrup to the cake instead of liqueur. I also add 2 tbls. cdm syrup to the whipped topping. I use hot fudge topping and spread it on the cake and put the whipped topping on top of that. This is my favorite cake, but I have never tried chocolate which I think I will do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
Following the recipe with the white cake and syrup I wasn't impressed, so have to give it a 3 star rating that way. However, following other reviews I used a chocolate cake with hot fudge ice cream topping (Hershey's)instead of chocolate syrup, and this was much better. The guys I made it for, (using chocolate cake and fudge) loved it. If you want to make the "Baptist" version use Peppermint extract instead. BTW, for those worried about the alcohol, it dissipates with heating leaving only the flavor, and you can always use peppermint extract for the topping if you are worried about children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I use dark chocolate cake mix. I also substitute 1 jar of fudge (you can find it near other ice cream toppings at your super market) for the can of chocolate syrup. Just soften the fudge in your microwave for easy spreading. Eveyone that's tried it LOVES it and can't believe how easy it is to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States