Creme de Menthe Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Our family has passed down a similar version. However, we add 3 Tablespoons of the green creme de menthe and do not leave out any water (it stays moist this way). You may also use 1.5 box of cake mix as the cake mix today has less in it than 30-40 years ago when my grandmother used to make this. We also top ours with a thin layer of melted chocolate instead of syrup - it hardens and adds a kind of crunch texture that goes great with the creamy whipped cream & cake. Just be sure not to spread it on too thick or you can't cut through it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I can only say one word. Yum! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Oh....my.....goodness! This cake is the best! I made it for a co-worker's birthday and it was pretty simple since everything is from a box or jar and it tastes like a million bucks! The only alterations I used were that I used chocolate cake mix and I used hot fudge instead of chocolate syrup. After I "frosted" the cake w/ the whipped topping, I made some designs on the top with chocolate syrup and then put broken pieces of Andes Candies on top. It looked great. Everyone loved it. I want to try it w/ the white cake mix sometime too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Not a crumb was left! I used an organic chocolate cake mix & whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmendorf Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I made nine of these for an Irish night my husband was planning. It was perfect and received many compliments. I made it using French vanilla cake mixes. I also made my own chocolate syrup (to save money)This had just the right amount of creme de menthe taste for my liking. This was ebjoyed by all. Thanks for posting and reviews that gave me the confidence to use this recipe without testing it first. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Oh My!!!!! It's Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I really enjoy making this cake around Christmas time. I usually drizzle some chocolate sauce on the top of the whipped topping and add crushed Ande's mints to the top. It is so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
My mom passed this same recipe down to me. Whenever I make it, there is never any left over. It's so easy to make and tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi_M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Great recipe for St. Patrick's luncheon. I was heavy handed on the chocolate syrup, didn't hear any complaints! Don't know if I'd bother buying creme de menthe when I can use peppermint extract and green food coloring. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
very good! Made it with Choc. Cake and Hot fudge. Probably would have been more festive for St. Patties Day if made with white cake. Didn't like it frozen, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States