Creme de Menthe Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was good and very rich, but I think I prefer the plain brownie. Made my own brownie recipe and then followed the recipe for the frostings exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Wow - these are just too good and even with a brownie mix.; Similar topping to Nanimo bars but by far better. Thanks for adding something special to my recipe file. Definitely not for everyday tho!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I have made these brownies for over 20 years and they are always popular. So easy to make and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
These brownies are so worth the extra effort. At Christmas I make 2 batches. One Creme de Menthe and with the other I use cherry flavoring and red food color for the flavored layer. Unfortunately, there are never leftovers for me to enjoy so I have learned to hide a few so I can enjoy them with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I received a similar recipe from a coworker several years ago and it is still one of my most requested desserts for events with all my friends. One major difference - my recipe uses 2 teaspoons of peppermint extract instead of creme de menthe. Definitely more kid-friendly. I will compare my recipe and see what other differences there might be. I don't think it would be as good with a brownine mix instead of the cake layer made with this recipe. This is much denser and moister than most brownies with a more intense chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My mom has made these in the past and they've always been a favorite of mine. However, I just got done icing mine and found the icing to be runny. I used Creme de Menthe syrup in place of the liquor, powdered sugar as called for, and butter (spread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slushykamikaze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and used a box mix of brownies (double chocolate) and made the icing and chocolate topping per the instructions. WOW! This is an amazing dessert- it's moist, decadent, and slices really easily for a pretty presentation. My creme de menthe liqueur was clear, so I added a few drops of green food coloring to make it festive. I will be making this again and again, and then again some more! Thank you so much Deirdre Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Family favorite...been making this recipe for years...the only difference is that my recipe calls for 1/2 c. butter for the brownies instead of the 1 c. that this recipe calls for. Also...I cut the chocolate frosting step in half and drizzle it on top of the creme de menthe frosting instead of making it a full layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Took another's advise and used Betty Crocker's Triple Chunk Brownie mix. Also added 1 tbl of creme de menthe to the brownix mix. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Great as is....But I was short on time so I used Betty Crocker triple chunk brownie mix. WOW! If you have the time try it as written, if not cheating makes a great dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States