Creme de Menthe Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I received a similar recipe from a coworker several years ago and it is still one of my most requested desserts for events with all my friends. One major difference - my recipe uses 2 teaspoons of peppermint extract instead of creme de menthe. Definitely more kid-friendly. I will compare my recipe and see what other differences there might be. I don't think it would be as good with a brownine mix instead of the cake layer made with this recipe. This is much denser and moister than most brownies with a more intense chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My mom has made these in the past and they've always been a favorite of mine. However, I just got done icing mine and found the icing to be runny. I used Creme de Menthe syrup in place of the liquor, powdered sugar as called for, and butter (spread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slushykamikaze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and used a box mix of brownies (double chocolate) and made the icing and chocolate topping per the instructions. WOW! This is an amazing dessert- it's moist, decadent, and slices really easily for a pretty presentation. My creme de menthe liqueur was clear, so I added a few drops of green food coloring to make it festive. I will be making this again and again, and then again some more! Thank you so much Deirdre Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Family favorite...been making this recipe for years...the only difference is that my recipe calls for 1/2 c. butter for the brownies instead of the 1 c. that this recipe calls for. Also...I cut the chocolate frosting step in half and drizzle it on top of the creme de menthe frosting instead of making it a full layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Took another's advise and used Betty Crocker's Triple Chunk Brownie mix. Also added 1 tbl of creme de menthe to the brownix mix. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Great as is....But I was short on time so I used Betty Crocker triple chunk brownie mix. WOW! If you have the time try it as written, if not cheating makes a great dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
As per other reviewers, I made a different brownie recipe with this. I didn't like the topping at all though. The taste wasn't really minty. Made mint chocolate Baileys is the problem? That was the only mint liqueur that I was able to find. I had to throw out most of the topping after testing on a section of the brownies (I waited overnight as one user suggested that they get better over time). Very disappointed and a huge waste of ingredients. The only reason that it doesn't get less stars is that I don't actually know what the brownie tastes like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Great tasting Christmas treat But it crumbled on me the first time I made it- so I eliminated the egg and coconut in the crust and baked it 7-8 min - we like it with the crunchy, nutty crust better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I might add a bit more creme de menthe next time... but these were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe is outstanding! I entered it in a newspaper contest and was chosen a semi-finalist. It is easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States