Creme de Menthe Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Great tasting Christmas treat But it crumbled on me the first time I made it- so I eliminated the egg and coconut in the crust and baked it 7-8 min - we like it with the crunchy, nutty crust better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I might add a bit more creme de menthe next time... but these were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe is outstanding! I entered it in a newspaper contest and was chosen a semi-finalist. It is easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Can I just say, HOLY ! These bars are awesome! I can't make them that often because they only last for about two days around here. FYI, I've also substituted Kaluha for the Creme de Menthe and it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Well I wasn't sure about this at all while I was cooking it, but it turned out soooooo yummy! The brownie part itself probably wouldn't be great by itself (I have another recipe that's out of this world), but with the mint frosting and chocolate on top, it was really just right. I made a half batch and it worked out fine. I didn't want to buy creme de menthe just for this, so I used a splash of mint extract in the frosting, along with some green food coloring. I also wasn't very patient and frosted these while still kind of warm, and then put the top chocolate layer on. However, they cooled nicely and came out of the pan beautifully. I can't wait to make them again. I think they've got a great balance of flavors. Not too overly sweet, not too minty. Might try the creme de menthe another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This is a tasty, pretty bar. I used a boxed brownie mix, so I can't comment on the brownie recipe. The one I use is Betty Crocker Triple Chunk-- by far the best brownie mix I've found out there. The minty frosting with the chocolate on top is a nice addition and dresses it up a bit, so that you can serve it on a dessert tray at a fancier party. I tried to "drizzle" the chocolate over the mint frosting, but it didn't drizzle very well for me, so I ended up spreading it. Chill it well so that it cuts with sharp edges, making presentation even nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Wonderful brownies!! For a quick and easy recipe, substitute a Brownie Mix for the base layer. No one will be able to tell a difference. I get compliments on these everytime I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This recipe was amazingly good. I couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KRISSYTINA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Wonderful recipe, Thank You Deirdre Dee!!! I made these bars years ago and it has been my holiday specialty ever since. I had a rule of only making them during the Christmas season but since my boyfriend has tried them I've had to tweak that rule a bit. I took a chance this summer and tried Disaronno (an amaretto liqueur) in place of the Creme de Menthe...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISSYTINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I tried this recipe a couple years ago. It was a hit! So many people requested these brownies that I've been making it for every occasion since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States