Creme de Menthe Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I have made these brownies for over 20 years and they are always popular. So easy to make and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
These brownies are so worth the extra effort. At Christmas I make 2 batches. One Creme de Menthe and with the other I use cherry flavoring and red food color for the flavored layer. Unfortunately, there are never leftovers for me to enjoy so I have learned to hide a few so I can enjoy them with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I received a similar recipe from a coworker several years ago and it is still one of my most requested desserts for events with all my friends. One major difference - my recipe uses 2 teaspoons of peppermint extract instead of creme de menthe. Definitely more kid-friendly. I will compare my recipe and see what other differences there might be. I don't think it would be as good with a brownine mix instead of the cake layer made with this recipe. This is much denser and moister than most brownies with a more intense chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My mom has made these in the past and they've always been a favorite of mine. However, I just got done icing mine and found the icing to be runny. I used Creme de Menthe syrup in place of the liquor, powdered sugar as called for, and butter (spread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slushykamikaze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and used a box mix of brownies (double chocolate) and made the icing and chocolate topping per the instructions. WOW! This is an amazing dessert- it's moist, decadent, and slices really easily for a pretty presentation. My creme de menthe liqueur was clear, so I added a few drops of green food coloring to make it festive. I will be making this again and again, and then again some more! Thank you so much Deirdre Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Family favorite...been making this recipe for years...the only difference is that my recipe calls for 1/2 c. butter for the brownies instead of the 1 c. that this recipe calls for. Also...I cut the chocolate frosting step in half and drizzle it on top of the creme de menthe frosting instead of making it a full layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Took another's advise and used Betty Crocker's Triple Chunk Brownie mix. Also added 1 tbl of creme de menthe to the brownix mix. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Great as is....But I was short on time so I used Betty Crocker triple chunk brownie mix. WOW! If you have the time try it as written, if not cheating makes a great dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
As per other reviewers, I made a different brownie recipe with this. I didn't like the topping at all though. The taste wasn't really minty. Made mint chocolate Baileys is the problem? That was the only mint liqueur that I was able to find. I had to throw out most of the topping after testing on a section of the brownies (I waited overnight as one user suggested that they get better over time). Very disappointed and a huge waste of ingredients. The only reason that it doesn't get less stars is that I don't actually know what the brownie tastes like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Great tasting Christmas treat But it crumbled on me the first time I made it- so I eliminated the egg and coconut in the crust and baked it 7-8 min - we like it with the crunchy, nutty crust better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States