Creme Fraiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
I've looked for a recipe for creme fraiche for a long time. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This wasn't exactly how I remembered creme fraiche, but it was good nonetheless. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is the same recipe I got from the chef where I work. You can also use sour cream instead of buttermilk if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Followed the directions explicitly, this creme fraiche is very runny. I expected it to congeale, but it never did. Same consistency a day and a half later as when I first combined the buttermilk and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
It will be less runny if you use a yogurt maker or put it in the oven at about 100 degrees for five hours or even overnight. Just keep an eye on it so it doesn't start to take on a cheese-like quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This works just as well with half and half with less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
For best results, instead of storing in the refrigerator, place on top of a counter. Place a piece of cheese cloth over the top of the bowl and secure it with a rubber band or piece of string. When you are ready to use, add a half teaspoon of sugar and blend with a spoon until the texture is consistent, as some liquid will usually accumulate in the bowl during the curing period. Buttermilk is usually the preferred culture, but sour cream works better, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
The creme fraiche was good, but didnt really thicken up the way I hoped... however I whipped it with the mixer and it came out just fine. Prob not the texture you would expect, but served its purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a good recipe. However, I prefer to let mine cure on a shelf in my kitchen and not the refrigerator. Mine comes out thicker than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but i have read that when making creme fraiche to avoid buying ultra-pasturized whipping cream because it take much longer to thicken. I thought this might help since some people feel it comes out too thin. Also, many people choose to heat the cream to about 104 degrees, remove from heat, and then add the buttermilk, and stir everyone 5 hours when storing at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Supreme Strawberry Topping

Try this lightly sweetened fresh strawberry sauce!

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States