Creme Fraiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
I've looked for a recipe for creme fraiche for a long time. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This wasn't exactly how I remembered creme fraiche, but it was good nonetheless. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is the same recipe I got from the chef where I work. You can also use sour cream instead of buttermilk if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Followed the directions explicitly, this creme fraiche is very runny. I expected it to congeale, but it never did. Same consistency a day and a half later as when I first combined the buttermilk and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
It will be less runny if you use a yogurt maker or put it in the oven at about 100 degrees for five hours or even overnight. Just keep an eye on it so it doesn't start to take on a cheese-like quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This works just as well with half and half with less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
For best results, instead of storing in the refrigerator, place on top of a counter. Place a piece of cheese cloth over the top of the bowl and secure it with a rubber band or piece of string. When you are ready to use, add a half teaspoon of sugar and blend with a spoon until the texture is consistent, as some liquid will usually accumulate in the bowl during the curing period. Buttermilk is usually the preferred culture, but sour cream works better, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
The creme fraiche was good, but didnt really thicken up the way I hoped... however I whipped it with the mixer and it came out just fine. Prob not the texture you would expect, but served its purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a good recipe. However, I prefer to let mine cure on a shelf in my kitchen and not the refrigerator. Mine comes out thicker than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but i have read that when making creme fraiche to avoid buying ultra-pasturized whipping cream because it take much longer to thicken. I thought this might help since some people feel it comes out too thin. Also, many people choose to heat the cream to about 104 degrees, remove from heat, and then add the buttermilk, and stir everyone 5 hours when storing at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States