Creme Fraiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
The creme fraiche was good, but didnt really thicken up the way I hoped... however I whipped it with the mixer and it came out just fine. Prob not the texture you would expect, but served its purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
For best results, instead of storing in the refrigerator, place on top of a counter. Place a piece of cheese cloth over the top of the bowl and secure it with a rubber band or piece of string. When you are ready to use, add a half teaspoon of sugar and blend with a spoon until the texture is consistent, as some liquid will usually accumulate in the bowl during the curing period. Buttermilk is usually the preferred culture, but sour cream works better, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This works just as well with half and half with less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
It will be less runny if you use a yogurt maker or put it in the oven at about 100 degrees for five hours or even overnight. Just keep an eye on it so it doesn't start to take on a cheese-like quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Followed the directions explicitly, this creme fraiche is very runny. I expected it to congeale, but it never did. Same consistency a day and a half later as when I first combined the buttermilk and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is the same recipe I got from the chef where I work. You can also use sour cream instead of buttermilk if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This wasn't exactly how I remembered creme fraiche, but it was good nonetheless. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
I've looked for a recipe for creme fraiche for a long time. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States