Creme Fraiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe! If you can find unpastuized cream it is really the best! I also leave it sitting out between 24-48 hours before refrigeration. I have also made it with heavy cream and Greek yogurt! Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I typically use 1 part buttermilk to 2 parts heavy cream. Leave it on the counter for 24 hrs. Then place in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I did this backwards, left it on the counter for about 14 hours then in the fridge for about 6 before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
the trick to getting it thick and creamy is to whip it with a wisk like whiped cream. this the same as i have used for years. the only thing its missing is the cooking part. pour cream and buttermilk in a pot and gently bring to 110 degrees f remove from heat bring to room temp then cover with plastic wrap for at least 8 hours then whip and then you can ceep it in the fridge for up to a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef trent

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I originally got this recipe from (The Farm Journal's) "Freezing & Canning Cookbook" & have used it for many years. They called it "HOMEMADE SOUR CREAM", if memory serves. Combine the heavy cream & buttermilk in a sterile jar, cover & shake or turn over several times to mix. Loosen the lid and let stand in a warm place until it becomes thick, approximately 24-48 hours. I use the top of my water heater.* Stir well. Refrigerate for several hours before serving. It's wonderful on Strawberry Waffles, baked potatoes, etc. It seems to be interchangeable with commercial sour cream, except that it has a bit thinner consistency. The original recipe said the sour cream can be whipped-just be careful not to overwhip it. This could make it 'thicker'. * Note that the time to let it 'cure' is longer than recommended here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Grambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpio, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I use this all the time. Its so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this 2 days ago with a minor modification. I only had plain yogurt so I used that instead of buttermilk. Left it sit on the top of the fridge for warmth for 24 hrs, shook it gently every 8hrs and then put it in the fridge for 24hrs. It is super creamy, has very nice flavor and is really thick (ie: not quite as thick as ice cream)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I make mine with equal parts whipping cream & sour cream (8 oz ea). Mix together & leave all day on countertop. I make mine into a horseradish dip for prime rib. I just add some horseradish & salt to taste (after it's spent all day thickening). Everyone raves. I'm sure it would be equally wonderful to add sugar to taste & then use on berries. I'm getting hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but i have read that when making creme fraiche to avoid buying ultra-pasturized whipping cream because it take much longer to thicken. I thought this might help since some people feel it comes out too thin. Also, many people choose to heat the cream to about 104 degrees, remove from heat, and then add the buttermilk, and stir everyone 5 hours when storing at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a good recipe. However, I prefer to let mine cure on a shelf in my kitchen and not the refrigerator. Mine comes out thicker than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States