Creme Filling I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
My suggestion is to use superfine sugar and use the wire beaters on the upright mixers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This is it! I, too, added 1 tsp vanilla and filled a three layer dark chocolate cake (box mix) with this luscious filling and covered the cake with dark chocolate frosting (store bought). This cake looked beautiful when cut and tasted even better. It disappeared! There were no leftovers. This recipe is not at all time consuming, it is the easiest filling I've ever made. Just be sure to sift the confectioners sugar so that there are no little lumps and whip until all the sugar is completely melted into the shortening so that it is not all grainy. Great recipe, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
You do need vanilla in this.If it tastes "grainy", it hasn't been blended enough. It will be creamy if beaten long enough.Try this between 2 soft chocolate cookies. Alot like "Suzy Q's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is super easy and a little time consuming but overall ok. All the bad reviews of gritty must be using the wrong type of sugar. Confectioners sugar is POWDERED SUGAR!!!, not super fine or granulated. use the right stuff get the right results very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni Haverfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Vernon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I tried this recipe with a bit of vanilla, as others have suggested. It was, as expected, tasty, but gritty. Reasoning that sugar does not dissolve easily in fats, I added up to half a cup of water. This helped, but most of the sugar was already coated in fat and so did not dissolve easily. So I made a simple syrup with the sugar, then wipped in the shortening. I hoped this would emulsify easily and without the sugar grit. It made a slimy mess until I added a tablespoon or so more powered sugar while it was in the mixer. That allowed it to mix into a very nice creamy filling. I'm very happy with the result, it's a versitile mix that can range from a kind of thick creamy texture to a light fluffy filling. I'm storing some to see how stable it is and whether the gritty version, which is easier to make, will eventually smooth out on it's own. I'm looking forward to trying some other flavorings and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
Overall this is a wonderful recipe, however I found it to be lacking vanilla extract. I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and it was even better. I also made a batch of this filling using a teaspoon of almond extract. This recipe works wonderful for a cream filling in cream puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
this was very good but time consuming. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I let my stand mixer go at this filling for almost an hour and the sugar didn't dissolve. Although the taste isn't bad the grittiness is a downside for me. I was hoping a better outcome. I will keep looking for a better creme filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I too added vanilla; I used unsalted butter for the shortning and used powdered icing sugar instead AND made it chocolate by adding a few teaspoons of baking cocoa. My Phillips Mixer mixed it thouroughly yet I found some of the butter didn't blend well. It tasted nice, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
okay..tried several ways and this is the best. Follow recipe, use i cup shorting, 3/4 cup or 1/2 cup white sugar , vanilla,two sticks of soft butter and 2 cups or more of powdered sugar..electric beater for a long time around 20 minutes..taste as you go. The crisco is what gives it a unique body, the powder sugar is after all regular sugar ground to a powder. Add powder sugar as you need it..I got enough to do a double deck cake, the flavor can be your choice, it came out real fluffy and will try to use it as a filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States