Creme Filling I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Even though people said they had gritty filling I thought I could make it smooth since I have a professional kitchen aid mixer. I beat this filling for about 15 minutes on the highest setting and scraped down the bowl every few minutes or so, it still came out gritty. It is impossible to get this smooth and gritty free doing this method, think of raw cookie dough but only with more grit. When I realized that this was as good as it was gonna get, I did go ahead and add more powder sugar and some flavorings which made it taste better, but it still was not enjoyable. I suggest if you want to use this recipe to use powder sugar instead of regular sugar and add some vanilla extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This is it! I, too, added 1 tsp vanilla and filled a three layer dark chocolate cake (box mix) with this luscious filling and covered the cake with dark chocolate frosting (store bought). This cake looked beautiful when cut and tasted even better. It disappeared! There were no leftovers. This recipe is not at all time consuming, it is the easiest filling I've ever made. Just be sure to sift the confectioners sugar so that there are no little lumps and whip until all the sugar is completely melted into the shortening so that it is not all grainy. Great recipe, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
You do need vanilla in this.If it tastes "grainy", it hasn't been blended enough. It will be creamy if beaten long enough.Try this between 2 soft chocolate cookies. Alot like "Suzy Q's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Mine turned out great. I did make some changes, though. I used butter instead of shortening. I only added half a cup of butter. I used 2 cups of confectioners' sugar instead of white sugar. I also added a half of a tablespoon of vanilla extract, a dash of cinnamon and 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder. I whipped it all together and stuck it in the refrigerator to set up. It turned out fantastic! My fiance LOVES it and if I'm not careful he'll eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
I'm in Germany where they don't have icing like Duncan Hines so I made this up one night and stuck a spoon in it. Ugh. Not what I was expecting. It tasted like sweet, gritty Crisco. Added vanilla, still no dice. Oh well, live and learn! Nice look to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
I tried this recipe and it tasted awful. All I could taste was the shortening. I tried everything to improve it, including adding vanilla. It looked like the creme filling you see in doughnut shops, but it definately didn't taste like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
Overall this is a wonderful recipe, however I found it to be lacking vanilla extract. I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and it was even better. I also made a batch of this filling using a teaspoon of almond extract. This recipe works wonderful for a cream filling in cream puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I made this twice, once with regular sugar and once with super fine sugar. Both times I let it beat in the mixer for well over an hour and the sugars never dissolved. The flavor is very much like doughnut creme filling but the texture is terrible. I'm sure there have to be better recipes out there for this type of filling and I will be trying a different one in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is super easy and a little time consuming but overall ok. All the bad reviews of gritty must be using the wrong type of sugar. Confectioners sugar is POWDERED SUGAR!!!, not super fine or granulated. use the right stuff get the right results very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni Haverfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Vernon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I let my stand mixer go at this filling for almost an hour and the sugar didn't dissolve. Although the taste isn't bad the grittiness is a downside for me. I was hoping a better outcome. I will keep looking for a better creme filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States