Creme Filling I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Texture is not like filling in bakeries. Too gritty no matter how long you use electric beater. I am looking for creamy texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
okay..tried several ways and this is the best. Follow recipe, use i cup shorting, 3/4 cup or 1/2 cup white sugar , vanilla,two sticks of soft butter and 2 cups or more of powdered sugar..electric beater for a long time around 20 minutes..taste as you go. The crisco is what gives it a unique body, the powder sugar is after all regular sugar ground to a powder. Add powder sugar as you need it..I got enough to do a double deck cake, the flavor can be your choice, it came out real fluffy and will try to use it as a filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
There has to be something missing from this recipe. I have been looking for a good, less-perishable, pastry filling for cream horns and came across this one. It looked a bit odd, only 3 ingredients, and felt it would be gritty. However, I do not like to judge a recipe until I try it... OMG! Gritty grease. No flavor, just grit followed by a greasy film. I use only top shelf ingredients (Crisco, etc.), so it is not my shortening. Was this used in still hot pastries, where perhaps the steam inside melted the sugar? Are we supposed to whip the shortening with vanilla or butter flavoring to help add flavor and allow the alcohol to break down the fat? Something is certainly missing. I hate to be judgmental, but this was bad... really bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I too added vanilla; I used unsalted butter for the shortning and used powdered icing sugar instead AND made it chocolate by adding a few teaspoons of baking cocoa. My Phillips Mixer mixed it thouroughly yet I found some of the butter didn't blend well. It tasted nice, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Even though people said they had gritty filling I thought I could make it smooth since I have a professional kitchen aid mixer. I beat this filling for about 15 minutes on the highest setting and scraped down the bowl every few minutes or so, it still came out gritty. It is impossible to get this smooth and gritty free doing this method, think of raw cookie dough but only with more grit. When I realized that this was as good as it was gonna get, I did go ahead and add more powder sugar and some flavorings which made it taste better, but it still was not enjoyable. I suggest if you want to use this recipe to use powder sugar instead of regular sugar and add some vanilla extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I made this twice, once with regular sugar and once with super fine sugar. Both times I let it beat in the mixer for well over an hour and the sugars never dissolved. The flavor is very much like doughnut creme filling but the texture is terrible. I'm sure there have to be better recipes out there for this type of filling and I will be trying a different one in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This was not at all what I was looking for - very gritty and greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I let my stand mixer go at this filling for almost an hour and the sugar didn't dissolve. Although the taste isn't bad the grittiness is a downside for me. I was hoping a better outcome. I will keep looking for a better creme filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
You do need vanilla in this.If it tastes "grainy", it hasn't been blended enough. It will be creamy if beaten long enough.Try this between 2 soft chocolate cookies. Alot like "Suzy Q's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
I'm in Germany where they don't have icing like Duncan Hines so I made this up one night and stuck a spoon in it. Ugh. Not what I was expecting. It tasted like sweet, gritty Crisco. Added vanilla, still no dice. Oh well, live and learn! Nice look to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Coconut Cream (Vegan Whipped Cream)

Dairy-free whipped cream made with coconut milk.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States