Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe gives you a solid foundation for a great Creme Brulee as long as you follow the suggestions by ChefPeon. I personally think it impossible to call it Creme Brulee unless you're taken a torch to it....the broiler just doesn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Good recipe.. i substituted sugar with condensed milk and steamed it on medium low heat for 40 mins instead of baking it... it turned out super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is surprisingly easy, and turned out really well for my first foray into creme brulee. followed the chefpeon instructions, they turned out perfectly. be careful not to put too much sugar on top to carmelize, i ended up once with a crust so thick i had to throw it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dilkerani540
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! I gave it 4/5 starts because i didnt follow what was typed here, i modified it fitting Chef Peon's way. This video summed up Chef Peon's modifications: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_16ZZtTH_Y . I used 5 egg yolks (because i didnt have another one) and only used about 2.25 cups of heavy cream. i did use a full teaspoon of pure vanilla extract, i think that was very important to the taste. Also, i dont have a torch so i set my oven to 'broil' and put the cream brulee dish on the topmost rack. it did heat the custard, unfortunately, so i had to wait a little while to let it cool down, then i ate it. also, i didnt leave it in too long because i didnt want the sugar to burn too much and i knew the custard would still become warm. either way, i did like the custard, even if it was warm. enjoyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dilkerani540

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
AMAZING. Followed the advice of the reviewer CHEFPION and it turned out spectacular. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Great recipe for basic creme brulee, I followed Chefpeon's recommendations. I did not have enough individual ramekins, so I cooked mine in a larger dish and had to extend cooking time to 35 minutes. Delicious, I'd like to try addding different flavors next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Ingredient changes: 1 tsp vanilla, 4 Tbs white sugar in brulees, 2 Tbs white fine granulated sugar for carmelizing I gave 4 stars based on CHEFPEON’s adjustments (for which I would give 5). It’s also rated on my second attempt. I tried the second time because reviews said how easy and delicious it was. My first time took forever, was disgusting and had to be thrown away. I hope you can learn from my mistakes. 1) I wasn’t sure what “almost boiling” was for the cream. I heated it till I could hear a tiny noise but couldn’t see bubbles. The cream curdled and the brulees were greasy clumpy messes. The second time after carefully watching the pot so it didn’t make a noise, all was well. 2) My mixer is powerful. The beaten egg yolk mixture became froth. Adding the curdled cream did not make it less frothy. It was impossible to skim off the foam because it was all foam. The second time I used a whisk instead of a beater, and rather than skimming off the top, I poured the mixture through a fine sieve into the ramekins, which seemed easier. 3) In my second attempt I baked the brulees on the 3rd shelf down, loosely covered with a sheet of foil because the first ones had burned. 4) For broiling, I moved the shelf up, checking it every 30 seconds as someone suggested. Served with fresh berries on top they were absolutely PERFECT. My guests raved over it. (I did too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
recipe is easy, simple! and yummy. I had a cooking class in making desserts so I knew how to temper the egg yolks with a few drops of warm cream and put water around the ramkins when cooking. The Creme Brulee turned out better than the brulee we made in class which called for whole eggs..just too eggy that way! I didn't worry about straining the mixture for smoothness..its just me eating them( hubby hates brulee- go figure!) but they were not lumpy!! Or maybe I gobbled them down too fast...no desserts stays too long in my kitchen!! Used blow torch on sugar....just for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was amazing and easy! I followed the changes suggested by CHEFPEON. Perfect! Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States