Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was an excellent recipe when following the recommendations by CHEFPEON. Not too sweet, a very nice dessert. I used white sugar on top instead of brown and liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIGUILDERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Mixture needed to be strained through cheesecloth. I made it twice and found the results were the same each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I give it a two because the recipe on it's own is not good. It lacks lacks direction. Using the tips found here from other users made it great. I used baker's sugar when making the custard to make it easier on myself (breakdowns much better) and standard white sugar for the crusting. I tried brown sugar on one and did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryingcake

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Cooking this way changes the texture. The flavor isn't exactly what I was hoping for but taste good. This creamed brulee recipe is a starters recipe for the new cook. When Baking custard you must always place the ramekins into a deep pan filled with water half way u the sides of the ramekins. This helps prevent curdling of the eggs in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Easy and good, but I ultimately used additional instructions from chef review and it turned out great. Added scrapings of vanilla bean for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ladyviola
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe but I must mention that it is imperative that you bake these in a water bath. My first time making these, I did not use a water bath and my custard curdled. The second I used the water bath and it was perfect. I only use brown sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is a decent creme brulee recipe, but I have 3 suggestions that I feel makes a huge difference. 1- When I have made creme brulee in the past, I have added my hot milk to my whipped egg yolk/sugar mixture slowly. After that I add that mixture directly into my ramekins. I don't believe you need to add it back to your double boiler for the 3 mins suggested. 2- I always place my ramekins in a deep baking pan in about a half inch water. When I tried this recipe, I did some each way (with and without the water bath), and the ones in the water were lighter and fluffier. It definitely is worth the extra step. 3- Brown sugar melts differently than white on top. I noted the brown sugar actually burned before the white, which didn't give the desired hardened sugar affect and also affected taste. I have always used just white granulated sugar, and I think this works better. Excellent creme brulee. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very complicated to make.. I was very confused with which recipe to make (this one or the one recommended in the reviews) sooo i got pretty frustrated while making this, i probably wont make this again. It was tasted decent..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I also followed the instructions by Chefpeon which were simpler, and I cut the recipe in half but I put it all in one ramekin which was filled up, so mine took almost an hour to cook. It still didn't look ready when I took it out of the oven, and I didn't have time to let it cool in the water bath so I put it straight in the fridge. However it set up just fine :) Next time I will just put it in a larger dish, and I will not sprinkle the brown sugar on top - it's too sticky, and the chunks of brown sugar burned too quickly. Thanks for this simple recipe that is still impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Have made this several times. Used the chef's suggestions. It is delicious! Have made before dinner parties, pulled out of fridge about 15 minutes before putting under broiler and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim McFarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States