Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good however an little "eggy". I use 5 yolks instead of 6 and it is much less eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
5 Stars based on Chefpeons suggestions. SO EASY!! It came out excellant and dh was so surprised that it was so creamy and good. Actually making a second batch right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Used this recipes ingredients, but used reviewer, chefpeon, instuctions - perfect blend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars based on my results when using Chefpeon's modifications. I served this at a small dinner party and it was a hit! One of our guests works in the restaurant industry and is somewhat of a food snob - even she was super impressed. I don't have a strainer so I just used a spoon and a curved spatula to skim off the foam after combining the cream/egg mixture. My ramekins are from an actual creme brulee "set" that my husband had bought for me, and they are pretty small. I ended up filling 4 of those to the top, plus two pretty large glass ramekins. The smaller ones took about 20 minutes in the oven, while the larger ones took about 25 mins. I let them all sit at room temp for a while before putting in the fridge to avoid condensation. I used only white sugar on top before torching, and they turned out perfectly. The only downfall is that my butane torch is small (it's from the set) and it took a while to carmelize the tops. The actual custard ended up being warmer than I would have like when I served it, but that could also be due to the shallowness of the ramkekins. Overall - fantastic recipe, super easy, and sure to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I have a serious addiction to creme brulee and this recipe is quite simple. I actually followed CHEFPEON's advice in the review given and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha_L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
So easy and delicious! Tastes elegant and rich. I make this for valentine's day dinner. I broiled mine to crisp the sugar and it worked fine, just watch it the whole time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
So good!! Makes you want more when your done. Great for cold days!! Easy to make to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Extremely good, I gave it a 4 star because both my husband and I got upset stomachs afterwards...There should be a warning...Eat too much and its not good on the stomach! But VERY VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Wow. I followed the directions with the modifications from Chefpeon. (thank goodness b/c I got nervous about the whole double boiler bit). I am very happy with my results! I thought I had ruined it b/c I left it in the oven for about 25 minutes and it had begun to bubble on top a little. But it came out delicious! I have a little kitchen torch that I used to caramelize the sugar. I used organic sugar, so not brown but also not white, kind of in between. It worked really nicely. I am so excited I can make creme brulee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is a good recipe. But....you really shouldn't use brown sugar on top. Powdered sugar or white sugar is best (I put my white sugar in a food processor and blitz for 30 secs). It makes a thinner and tastier crust on top. Also a tip for the water bath, if you have a tea pot, heat your water in that and pour from there. Less sloshing and chances of spilling into the ramekins. If no kettle/tea pot, pour the hot water into a heat resistant pitcher and slowly pour. Another tip to remember is about the eggs. Generally, no more than 3 egg yolks per pint of cream. Any more than that and it starts to turn pasty. Just my two cents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States