Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
this was a very good recipe.......however, it turned out to much like a scrambled egg...I have made creme brulee several times now and this is only the second time it happened due to wrong ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
just curious - has anyone ever tried using coconut milk as a substitute for the cream? I use vanilla beans scraped and caramelize pineapple and toast coconut over mine sometimes and I just wonder how taste and texture might be effected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
With this recipe and CHEFPEON's instruction this was a HUGE hit in my household with everyone from my 6 year old, my 14 year old and myself and husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I followed chefpeon's directions.. cut the recipe in half and this was amazing! my first time making it and it was success! this is my go- to recipe now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I followed Chef Peon's suggestions and my creme brulee came out fabulously! It is very easy to make, it's just time consuming. Heating the cream took the longest. I heated the cream at low heat for an hour and it never started to bubble! Next time, I'll turn up the temperature a bit so I don't have to wait so long again! I found that if I topped a ramekin with a thicker coat of sugar, it will be more crunchy, which is what I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
very nice! family loved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumalee
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe is delicious. The only advice we would like to make is to put two thin coatings of sugar instead of a heaping spoonful. The candied crust will come out more uniform and the chances of burning the sugar will be less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
3 stars the way the recipe is posted...5 using most of CHEFPEON's suggestions. I love Creme Brulee but was always afraid to make it. It's easier than I thought--the hardest part is moving the water baths and not sloshign the water into the ramekins. Here's how I do it: Mix 6 egg yolks, 4T sugar, and 1/2t vanilla (plus a little extra). Whisk in heated cream a little at a time so as nto to cook the yolks. Skim off the foam and pour into ramekins (shallow ones are best!). I bake with a foil tent as some mentioned to avoid browning the tops. For the sugar, I just use white--I pour it on and shake it around to coat evenly (I use much mor ethan the 2T the recipe says to reserve). I already had small propane tanks for a tabletop grill and got the torch adapter for $12 from hoem depot--much more efficient and cheaper than a fancy kitchen torch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *sara*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My ramekins were much smaller than this recipe called for apparently. So mine made 4 small servings and one small casserole dish sized one. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States