Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I followed CHEFPEON's instructions and this turned out great! I never knew creme brulee was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktwofish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
After pouring a little of the hot cream into the egg yolk mixture and whisking briskly, pour the cream/yolk mixture into the rest of the cream and whisk. There will be a lot of foam on the top. Skim this off with a strainer and throw away. The double boiler step is not necessary. Pour the hot mixture into individual serving dishes or ramekins and place in a baking dish. Set the dish with the ramekins in it on your oven shelf, then pour hot water in the dish so the water comes halfway up the sides of the ramekins. Bake at 375 anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes. They are done when you shake the dish gently and the brulees jiggle just slightly in the middle. The jiggle shouldn't be a liquid jiggle, but more of a gelatin-like jiggle. Remove from oven and let the brulees cool in the water bath for about 15 minutes, then remove and put the brulees in the refrigerator to chill. Just before serving, sprinkle the tops with white granulated sugar and shake off the excess. Place under broiler til caramelized or use a propane torch to burn the tops. Serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I love this recipe! I lightly foil mine so that the tops don't burn. (The oven I use is convection.) I also use the brulee torch to pop the bubbles on the top of each ramekin before baking. I also dont refrigerate after burning the sugar since I don't want it to condensate or sog out. I love All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
It is a 5 star if you follow the chefpeon's review tips/ instructions. Love it! Pleases guests every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Followed all the tips given by CHEFPEON and this turned out just like at the restaurant. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good however an little "eggy". I use 5 yolks instead of 6 and it is much less eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
5 Stars based on Chefpeons suggestions. SO EASY!! It came out excellant and dh was so surprised that it was so creamy and good. Actually making a second batch right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Used this recipes ingredients, but used reviewer, chefpeon, instuctions - perfect blend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars based on my results when using Chefpeon's modifications. I served this at a small dinner party and it was a hit! One of our guests works in the restaurant industry and is somewhat of a food snob - even she was super impressed. I don't have a strainer so I just used a spoon and a curved spatula to skim off the foam after combining the cream/egg mixture. My ramekins are from an actual creme brulee "set" that my husband had bought for me, and they are pretty small. I ended up filling 4 of those to the top, plus two pretty large glass ramekins. The smaller ones took about 20 minutes in the oven, while the larger ones took about 25 mins. I let them all sit at room temp for a while before putting in the fridge to avoid condensation. I used only white sugar on top before torching, and they turned out perfectly. The only downfall is that my butane torch is small (it's from the set) and it took a while to carmelize the tops. The actual custard ended up being warmer than I would have like when I served it, but that could also be due to the shallowness of the ramkekins. Overall - fantastic recipe, super easy, and sure to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I have a serious addiction to creme brulee and this recipe is quite simple. I actually followed CHEFPEON's advice in the review given and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha_L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States