Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Great recipe for basic creme brulee, I followed Chefpeon's recommendations. I did not have enough individual ramekins, so I cooked mine in a larger dish and had to extend cooking time to 35 minutes. Delicious, I'd like to try addding different flavors next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Ingredient changes: 1 tsp vanilla, 4 Tbs white sugar in brulees, 2 Tbs white fine granulated sugar for carmelizing I gave 4 stars based on CHEFPEON’s adjustments (for which I would give 5). It’s also rated on my second attempt. I tried the second time because reviews said how easy and delicious it was. My first time took forever, was disgusting and had to be thrown away. I hope you can learn from my mistakes. 1) I wasn’t sure what “almost boiling” was for the cream. I heated it till I could hear a tiny noise but couldn’t see bubbles. The cream curdled and the brulees were greasy clumpy messes. The second time after carefully watching the pot so it didn’t make a noise, all was well. 2) My mixer is powerful. The beaten egg yolk mixture became froth. Adding the curdled cream did not make it less frothy. It was impossible to skim off the foam because it was all foam. The second time I used a whisk instead of a beater, and rather than skimming off the top, I poured the mixture through a fine sieve into the ramekins, which seemed easier. 3) In my second attempt I baked the brulees on the 3rd shelf down, loosely covered with a sheet of foil because the first ones had burned. 4) For broiling, I moved the shelf up, checking it every 30 seconds as someone suggested. Served with fresh berries on top they were absolutely PERFECT. My guests raved over it. (I did too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
recipe is easy, simple! and yummy. I had a cooking class in making desserts so I knew how to temper the egg yolks with a few drops of warm cream and put water around the ramkins when cooking. The Creme Brulee turned out better than the brulee we made in class which called for whole eggs..just too eggy that way! I didn't worry about straining the mixture for smoothness..its just me eating them( hubby hates brulee- go figure!) but they were not lumpy!! Or maybe I gobbled them down too fast...no desserts stays too long in my kitchen!! Used blow torch on sugar....just for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was amazing and easy! I followed the changes suggested by CHEFPEON. Perfect! Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Great recipe, did it as instructed and my fianc'e loved it. Will try some of the suggestions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S0525mg2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
*ONLY* gets 5 stars due to the changes made by the reviewer. My mom adores creme brulee, and has been all over france to have it... she loves this recipe since it reminds her of europe! Easy to make, fun to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I used these ingredients but I added 1/2 teaspoon of Triplesec. I also followed ChefPeon's instructions. TERRIFIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimCancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
this was my first time trying creme brulee, so i used this recipe and another, and this was far better. I used chefpeon's suggestions...loved by all and a lot of fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
delicious! I gave it 4 stars because i adapted CHEFPEON's tips. Really really good though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States