Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was great when made with the following changes: 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, 2 leeks, washed & sliced, 1 small yellow onion, chopped, 5 large egg yolks, 1 cup heavy cream, 1 cup half-and-half, 4 ounces Gorgonzola cheese- crumbled, 1 6.5 ounce can whole clams- drained, 1 6.5 ounce can chopped clams- drained, 2 teaspoons fresh dill- minced, 2 tablespoons fresh Italian parsley, minced, Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste, 6 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese Directions: Preheat the oven to 275°F. In a medium saucepan, sauté the leeks and onion in olive oil for about 10 minutes, until soft. In a medium bowl, whisk the egg yolks until pale in color. Whisk in the cream and half-and-half. Mix in the leeks, onions, Gorgonzola, clams, dill, parsley, salt, and pepper. Place six standard-size flan dishes in a baking pan. Divide the custard mixture among the dishes. Pour warm water into the pan to come halfway up the sides of the dishes. Bake in the oven for 35 to 40 minutes, or until the center of the custards jiggles slightly. Remove from the oven and lift the dishes from the hot water. Place the dishes on a baking sheet. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese over custards. Brown the cheese with a hand-held torch. Serve hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Made this for the first time following suggestions and found very easy to make!! Everyone loves!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was so disgusting. I followed recipe to t. Tasted like runny eggs. Looked like creme brûlée.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissJ
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Easy and delicious! Made this recipe for a friend of mine, she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissJ

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Excellent and super easy to follow recipe, I've had to add more sugar, but other than that it was great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe is only 5 stars if you take the chef's recommendations from several years past that everyone refers to. It makes the recipe super easy and perfect. I would add just a little more sugar though but otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I tried to cut it in half and it was a bit under done but it still tasted divine. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Love it, it turned out great and I didn't even need a boiler. All I did was heat up the cream to a boiling point, remove it from the stove and slowly add in the egg mixture one spoonful at a time while stirring. And at the end I just used a blow torch on the sugar on top. For some reason the brown sugar seems to burn fast so I only use white sugar with the torch. Although the custer was a little sweet the first time around, so the second time I only add 3 tbs to the yolk instead of 4 and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cz375hh
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I used a propane torch and avoided the broiler problems. Not your little chef torches either I used my torch that I use for soldering plumbing pipes. Worked fine you just had to keep it moving and it added to the fun of our guest watching. I added berries which I also glazed with sugar and my torch after glazing the custard. Top shelf thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My husband made this for me for my birthday. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States