Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
this recipe is easy, but not for kids.....I think it would turn out great. the kids wold not think it is that easy with the double broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
A little different than other versions I have, but still a winner -- I did find, however, that this did not work to a custard-like consistency, which I enjoyed very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Of all the desserts at our Christmas dinner, this was the only one to completely disappear. Very easy to make and delicious! Received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I have made this recipe so many times because my entire family loves it. They can never get enough. The only different step I make is when baking I put the custart dishes in a baking pan with water. Turns out super creamy. It's a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
The ingredients and the amounts given in this recipe are fine, but as a professional pastry chef, I don't feel that the way it is prepared is the very BEST way you can serve Creme Brulee. After pouring a little of the hot cream into the egg yolk mixture and whisking briskly, pour the cream/yolk mixture into the rest of the cream and whisk. There will be a lot of foam on the top. Skim this off with a strainer and throw away. The double boiler step is not necessary. Pour the hot mixture into individual serving dishes or ramekins and place in a baking dish. Set the dish with the ramekins in it on your oven shelf, then pour hot water in the dish so the water comes halfway up the sides of the ramekins. Bake at 375 anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes. They are done when you shake the dish gently and the brulees jiggle just slightly in the middle. The jiggle shouldn't be a liquid jiggle, but more of a gelatin-like jiggle. Remove from oven and let the brulees cool in the water bath for about 15 minutes, then remove and put the brulees in the refrigerator to chill. Just before serving, sprinkle the tops with white granulated sugar and shake off the excess. Place under broiler til caramelized or use a propane torch to burn the tops. Serve immediately. Part of the fun of Creme Brulee comes from the crispiness of the burnt top compared to the creaminess of the custard. When you burn the top and then re-refrigerate the custards, the top will become soft again, which isn't as pleasing to t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFPEON

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
It turned out really bad don't recommed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I made this recipe and followed the tips by chefpeon. It came out fantastic. The only thing I would suggest is to get a mini torch to carmelize the tops. By putting it under the broiler, you are actually cooking the custard and it looses its firmness. Otherwise, its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
My fiance is a big Creme Brulee fan and I wanted to show her my appreciation for her and made her some from scratch. She enjoyed this recipe more than the creme brulee from the pros... Thanks Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I took chefpeon's advice, thank you chef, by the way. And the recipe came out awesome!! I had been wanting to make this for some time now. My boyfriend's father is somewhat hard to please in the cooking arena. So when he told me it was as good as they make in the finest restaurant's in Paris, which he'd been to, I was ecstatic to say the least!!!!!!! Thank you to Karen for sending in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTBUNS417

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
A fantastic creme brulee! I followed the advice of chefpeon, and it came out perfectly except for the caramalized topping, but that's due to my poorly heating oven and no butane torch and has nothing to do with the recipe. I had no idea that getting restaurant quality creme brulee would be so easy! I will definitly be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States