Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I also followed the instructions by Chefpeon which were simpler, and I cut the recipe in half but I put it all in one ramekin which was filled up, so mine took almost an hour to cook. It still didn't look ready when I took it out of the oven, and I didn't have time to let it cool in the water bath so I put it straight in the fridge. However it set up just fine :) Next time I will just put it in a larger dish, and I will not sprinkle the brown sugar on top - it's too sticky, and the chunks of brown sugar burned too quickly. Thanks for this simple recipe that is still impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Have made this several times. Used the chef's suggestions. It is delicious! Have made before dinner parties, pulled out of fridge about 15 minutes before putting under broiler and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim McFarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I followed the process posted by the pastry chef as well. Very easy and came out nice! With 5" ramekins, it took 20 minutes to cook to the correct firmness. Only one thing I would do different next time is ADD MORE vanilla. It was not nearly enough vanilla impact in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Ingredients are just right, taste very good! But you might want to use a torch to caramelize the sugar on the top instead of baking, and add 1-2 raspberry / blackberry / blueberry for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
The taste was amazing! I skipped the double boiler step and followed the instructions of another reviewer and just cooked it after whisking the milk and eggs together. I cooked it for 30 minutes or so. There were no lumps, but it was a little on the soft side, so I would probably cook it for another ten minutes. If that doesn't work, I would probably try adding another egg yolk to see what that does. High class dessert with little work. Love it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This recipe was very easy to follow and turned out great! Now I don't have to go to one of those expensive restaurants just for their creme brulee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimistry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe gives you a solid foundation for a great Creme Brulee as long as you follow the suggestions by ChefPeon. I personally think it impossible to call it Creme Brulee unless you're taken a torch to it....the broiler just doesn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Good recipe.. i substituted sugar with condensed milk and steamed it on medium low heat for 40 mins instead of baking it... it turned out super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is surprisingly easy, and turned out really well for my first foray into creme brulee. followed the chefpeon instructions, they turned out perfectly. be careful not to put too much sugar on top to carmelize, i ended up once with a crust so thick i had to throw it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dilkerani540
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! I gave it 4/5 starts because i didnt follow what was typed here, i modified it fitting Chef Peon's way. This video summed up Chef Peon's modifications: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_16ZZtTH_Y . I used 5 egg yolks (because i didnt have another one) and only used about 2.25 cups of heavy cream. i did use a full teaspoon of pure vanilla extract, i think that was very important to the taste. Also, i dont have a torch so i set my oven to 'broil' and put the cream brulee dish on the topmost rack. it did heat the custard, unfortunately, so i had to wait a little while to let it cool down, then i ate it. also, i didnt leave it in too long because i didnt want the sugar to burn too much and i knew the custard would still become warm. either way, i did like the custard, even if it was warm. enjoyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dilkerani540

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States