Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I have a serious addiction to creme brulee and this recipe is quite simple. I actually followed CHEFPEON's advice in the review given and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha_L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
So easy and delicious! Tastes elegant and rich. I make this for valentine's day dinner. I broiled mine to crisp the sugar and it worked fine, just watch it the whole time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
So good!! Makes you want more when your done. Great for cold days!! Easy to make to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Extremely good, I gave it a 4 star because both my husband and I got upset stomachs afterwards...There should be a warning...Eat too much and its not good on the stomach! But VERY VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Wow. I followed the directions with the modifications from Chefpeon. (thank goodness b/c I got nervous about the whole double boiler bit). I am very happy with my results! I thought I had ruined it b/c I left it in the oven for about 25 minutes and it had begun to bubble on top a little. But it came out delicious! I have a little kitchen torch that I used to caramelize the sugar. I used organic sugar, so not brown but also not white, kind of in between. It worked really nicely. I am so excited I can make creme brulee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is a good recipe. But....you really shouldn't use brown sugar on top. Powdered sugar or white sugar is best (I put my white sugar in a food processor and blitz for 30 secs). It makes a thinner and tastier crust on top. Also a tip for the water bath, if you have a tea pot, heat your water in that and pour from there. Less sloshing and chances of spilling into the ramekins. If no kettle/tea pot, pour the hot water into a heat resistant pitcher and slowly pour. Another tip to remember is about the eggs. Generally, no more than 3 egg yolks per pint of cream. Any more than that and it starts to turn pasty. Just my two cents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
this was a very good recipe.......however, it turned out to much like a scrambled egg...I have made creme brulee several times now and this is only the second time it happened due to wrong ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
just curious - has anyone ever tried using coconut milk as a substitute for the cream? I use vanilla beans scraped and caramelize pineapple and toast coconut over mine sometimes and I just wonder how taste and texture might be effected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
With this recipe and CHEFPEON's instruction this was a HUGE hit in my household with everyone from my 6 year old, my 14 year old and myself and husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I followed chefpeon's directions.. cut the recipe in half and this was amazing! my first time making it and it was success! this is my go- to recipe now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States