Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
The ingredients and the amounts given in this recipe are fine, but as a professional pastry chef, I don't feel that the way it is prepared is the very BEST way you can serve Creme Brulee. After pouring a little of the hot cream into the egg yolk mixture and whisking briskly, pour the cream/yolk mixture into the rest of the cream and whisk. There will be a lot of foam on the top. Skim this off with a strainer and throw away. The double boiler step is not necessary. Pour the hot mixture into individual serving dishes or ramekins and place in a baking dish. Set the dish with the ramekins in it on your oven shelf, then pour hot water in the dish so the water comes halfway up the sides of the ramekins. Bake at 375 anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes. They are done when you shake the dish gently and the brulees jiggle just slightly in the middle. The jiggle shouldn't be a liquid jiggle, but more of a gelatin-like jiggle. Remove from oven and let the brulees cool in the water bath for about 15 minutes, then remove and put the brulees in the refrigerator to chill. Just before serving, sprinkle the tops with white granulated sugar and shake off the excess. Place under broiler til caramelized or use a propane torch to burn the tops. Serve immediately. Part of the fun of Creme Brulee comes from the crispiness of the burnt top compared to the creaminess of the custard. When you burn the top and then re-refrigerate the custards, the top will become soft again, which isn't as pleasing to t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFPEON

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Great recipe, when following the modifications suggested by chefpone in the earlier reviews. To stop the custard cooking again when you caramelise the sugar under the grill/broiler, pack the tray around the dishes of creme brulee with ice. This keeps the wonderful contrast in texture between the hot and crispy layer of burnt sugar, and the cool slightly wobbly creme beneath. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
542 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I've made this creme brulee over and over for the last couple years and it's a big hit each time. I followed the suggestions from CHEFPEON. I do lower the temp of the oven to 350 and cook 20 mins though. turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Excellent flavor & texture using chefpeon's suggestions. I was a first timer and it was quite simple with one exception: the sugar mathematics don't add up unless I'm completely missing something. In total there are 8T sugar, 6 white (divided) and 2 brown. The recipe says use 4T (brown & white sugar)in the egg mixture and the remaining 2T for the topping to torch. (!!!) I did graduate from college; where are the other 2Tbsp in this recipe? Why is the 6T white sugar divided in the first place? Anyhow, enough of a rant...I added all of the sugar in the egg mixture, reserving enough to coat the tops and torch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was so delicious! I followed the suggestions of ChefPeon and they turned out perfectly. I also, instead of adding vanilla extract to the egg mixture, cut open a vanilla bean and threw that into the cream while it was heating. I also found that the brown sugar burned a little too much when I torched it, so maybe I will just use white sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlestown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
A little different than other versions I have, but still a winner -- I did find, however, that this did not work to a custard-like consistency, which I enjoyed very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was so easy to make and delicious and a real crowd pleaser. The only reason why I could not give this 5 stars is that a very important step is missing. When trying this recipe, follow the review from chefpeon to make it a 5 star recipe. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I have made this recipe so many times because my entire family loves it. They can never get enough. The only different step I make is when baking I put the custart dishes in a baking pan with water. Turns out super creamy. It's a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This was a great recipe for creme brulee. It was my first time making it so I went ahead and used CHEFPEON's suggestions and it turned out just like a restaurant dessert. Thanks for sharing such a simple yet decadent dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I incorporated the revisions made by Chefpeon, and it was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States