Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Yummy, and not hard to do. I didnt use a double boiler, and I used a water bath, baked them at 350 for 25 min worked for me. I used the whites for angel food cake. Both great desserts to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
So rich and so good! I made mine carb friendly by using Splenda instead of sugar. I also left the brown sugar off the top of mine, but made the rest of the fam's with and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was an excellent recipe when following the recommendations by CHEFPEON. Not too sweet, a very nice dessert. I used white sugar on top instead of brown and liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIGUILDERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Mixture needed to be strained through cheesecloth. I made it twice and found the results were the same each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I give it a two because the recipe on it's own is not good. It lacks lacks direction. Using the tips found here from other users made it great. I used baker's sugar when making the custard to make it easier on myself (breakdowns much better) and standard white sugar for the crusting. I tried brown sugar on one and did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryingcake

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Cooking this way changes the texture. The flavor isn't exactly what I was hoping for but taste good. This creamed brulee recipe is a starters recipe for the new cook. When Baking custard you must always place the ramekins into a deep pan filled with water half way u the sides of the ramekins. This helps prevent curdling of the eggs in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Easy and good, but I ultimately used additional instructions from chef review and it turned out great. Added scrapings of vanilla bean for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ladyviola
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe but I must mention that it is imperative that you bake these in a water bath. My first time making these, I did not use a water bath and my custard curdled. The second I used the water bath and it was perfect. I only use brown sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is a decent creme brulee recipe, but I have 3 suggestions that I feel makes a huge difference. 1- When I have made creme brulee in the past, I have added my hot milk to my whipped egg yolk/sugar mixture slowly. After that I add that mixture directly into my ramekins. I don't believe you need to add it back to your double boiler for the 3 mins suggested. 2- I always place my ramekins in a deep baking pan in about a half inch water. When I tried this recipe, I did some each way (with and without the water bath), and the ones in the water were lighter and fluffier. It definitely is worth the extra step. 3- Brown sugar melts differently than white on top. I noted the brown sugar actually burned before the white, which didn't give the desired hardened sugar affect and also affected taste. I have always used just white granulated sugar, and I think this works better. Excellent creme brulee. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very complicated to make.. I was very confused with which recipe to make (this one or the one recommended in the reviews) sooo i got pretty frustrated while making this, i probably wont make this again. It was tasted decent..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States