Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I followed Chef Peon's suggestions and my creme brulee came out fabulously! It is very easy to make, it's just time consuming. Heating the cream took the longest. I heated the cream at low heat for an hour and it never started to bubble! Next time, I'll turn up the temperature a bit so I don't have to wait so long again! I found that if I topped a ramekin with a thicker coat of sugar, it will be more crunchy, which is what I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
very nice! family loved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumalee
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe is delicious. The only advice we would like to make is to put two thin coatings of sugar instead of a heaping spoonful. The candied crust will come out more uniform and the chances of burning the sugar will be less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
3 stars the way the recipe is posted...5 using most of CHEFPEON's suggestions. I love Creme Brulee but was always afraid to make it. It's easier than I thought--the hardest part is moving the water baths and not sloshign the water into the ramekins. Here's how I do it: Mix 6 egg yolks, 4T sugar, and 1/2t vanilla (plus a little extra). Whisk in heated cream a little at a time so as nto to cook the yolks. Skim off the foam and pour into ramekins (shallow ones are best!). I bake with a foil tent as some mentioned to avoid browning the tops. For the sugar, I just use white--I pour it on and shake it around to coat evenly (I use much mor ethan the 2T the recipe says to reserve). I already had small propane tanks for a tabletop grill and got the torch adapter for $12 from hoem depot--much more efficient and cheaper than a fancy kitchen torch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *sara*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My ramekins were much smaller than this recipe called for apparently. So mine made 4 small servings and one small casserole dish sized one. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very good, but I can't give it 5 stars because, like many others, I also followed CHEFPEON's advice. Delicious! The only thing I disagreed with is that I actually like it better if it goes back in the fridge for a little bit after caramelizing the top. Not too long, just long enough to cool the custard back down - maybe 20-30 minutes. I just put a few fresh raspberries on top and it was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Pretty good. Everyone was content with the way it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
very very good- of course used recommendations by chefpeon...doubled the recipe though for a large group...now what do I do with a dozen egg whites that is easy and will dazzle the crowd????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Yum! So good but the sugar part was very confusing. Somehow it turned out ok though. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States