Creme Brulee IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I followed this to the T....the cook time is wrong...If you place it in a water bath, 350 for 20 minutes or so you'll really be impressed!! it's an easy fix and easy to do! We enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I changed a couple of things in this recipe. I used vanilla extract instead of the vanilla bean. I also kicked it up a bit with about a tablespoon of lemon extract. I cooked it in a water bath instead of the way the recipe was written. All in all, it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
i only make this recipe when my boyfriend and i have been really good, (or if im in trouble hehehe) because i use devonshire cream, which is about 40% fat, but believe me, its delicious beyond comprehension! make sure you melt the cream down before you add your vanilla beans. i also use raw organic sugar that ive ground down super fine in a food processor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Lamikins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cita
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I followed this recipe and my creme brulee came out delicious on the first try. Except instead of using two vanilla beans I just used three teaspoons of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cita

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Thank you for a great recipe. My family loved it. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
After trying this recipe the suggested way I sought to improve the texture (due to it's runny feel). I used the same measurements for the custard (actually I used 6 teaspoons of vanilla extract per suggested vanilla bean). And instead of waiting for the cream and vanilla to cool for 30 minutes, I VERY SLOWLY poured the mixture into the egg and sugar (If you pour to quickly, the eggs will scramble), stirred well, and poured the mixture into the ramekins. Then I placed the ramekins in a baking pan and added hot water to the pan until half way up the sides of the ramekins, baked it at 350 degrees for 45 minutes (or until the custard jiggled like jello). I took the ramekins out of the water bath and cooled at room temperature for 15 minutes. Then I put the ramekins in the fridge to cool until we were ready for dessert. When ready, I broiled them for about 1 and a half minutes with brown sugar on top; and served it with strawberries and decaf coffee. This is a combination of recipes and good ideas that I have pulled from books and the internet. I still like to use this recipe (Creme Brulee IV) for customizing the custard measurements. It is a good basis for building a great brulee. I took what I liked from all of the recipes I found and left out the unnecessary, difficult, and expensive steps. What I was left with was a delicious, simple, and elegant dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I didnt have much luck with this recipe. The flavor was nice...but it was more like pudding...it didnt set very well even after chilling. I will probably do something similar, with chocolate, for pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This recipe didn't work for us either. The custard never set. Where did we go wrong??? In searching for another recipe we found one almost identical which followed the same steps as this recipe but was then baked in the oven. We'll try that or Trader Joe's next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
The taste of this creme is a little different than others, but if you take the time and follow the directions this is by far the best of the recipes that I have tried here. I give it a 4 star because there is always room for improvement on everything. P.S. it worked on the first try for me .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Not worth the touble. Spent over 6 hours at 3 attmepts to make this work properly and found out that there is just not enough instructions in this recipe to make it work properly. Found a better recipe in which you bake the creme brulee in an oven which worked better. But best solution was going to Trader Joe's and purchasing their frozen item. That was a lot easier and didn't taset all that bad, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States