Creme Brulee III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I put this recipe in little custard cups, and it turned out wonderfully! It doesn't set up as firm as baked custards, and it's not as heavy as a lot of similiar recipes are, and I liked that very much. It also has about half the calories as many other recipes. Overall, it was easy and very tasty. This will become my favorite creme brulee recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Easy to make and delicious. Small problems: I used heavy cream, which apparently does not form bubbles around the edges, and I was not entirely clear on exactly what "coating the back of a metal spoon" really *means*. (A temperature might have been helpful.) But it turned out quite well anyway. I'm guessing that the stovetop preparation of the custard resulted in it having a slightly more creamy, liquidy texture than other cremes brulee, but no one complained. Minor quibbles aside, it was all in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
Alot easier than I thought. Tasted perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Very easy to make.. I noticed another reviewer didn't get bubbles.. she probably did but you need to stir it or lift the pot so that you can see the under the surface along the side of the pot.. that is where they form.. And using full cream makes this recipe waayyy more creamy.. all in all very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
My friends and I tried this creme brulee recipe and, though it tasted good, the consistency was soupy and watery--- nothing like creme brulee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Excellent! I had to use heavy cream because it is all I had, and it still came out wonderfully. It may come out a bit runnier than it should be, but it still thickened, the top carmelized beautifully and it tastes yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Very good! Just need to let the sauce cool for at least an hour before baking,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
Not all together bad. I couldn't find light cream so I used half-and-half, probably not a good idea. It tasted a little bit too much like egg. It didn't seem to thicken as well as I think it should have either, might have been the cream I used. I will probably try it again the overall taste is OK, just needs a little profection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is slightly runny and not very creme brulee like. I found it to be more like a whipped pudding than a thick custard that is creme brulee. It did not taste bad but, I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caramellover
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I love this receipe so much!!!!!!!! Thank you very much for sharing it with us. I didn't know what double boiler is and I have used stimmer for boiling creme.I have used light cream and the desert is just wonderful ,the most important is that it is authentic and I used to eat it in European hotels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caramellover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States