Creme Brulee III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2001
Alot easier than I thought. Tasted perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Easy to make and delicious. Small problems: I used heavy cream, which apparently does not form bubbles around the edges, and I was not entirely clear on exactly what "coating the back of a metal spoon" really *means*. (A temperature might have been helpful.) But it turned out quite well anyway. I'm guessing that the stovetop preparation of the custard resulted in it having a slightly more creamy, liquidy texture than other cremes brulee, but no one complained. Minor quibbles aside, it was all in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
I put this recipe in little custard cups, and it turned out wonderfully! It doesn't set up as firm as baked custards, and it's not as heavy as a lot of similiar recipes are, and I liked that very much. It also has about half the calories as many other recipes. Overall, it was easy and very tasty. This will become my favorite creme brulee recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
Not all together bad. I couldn't find light cream so I used half-and-half, probably not a good idea. It tasted a little bit too much like egg. It didn't seem to thicken as well as I think it should have either, might have been the cream I used. I will probably try it again the overall taste is OK, just needs a little profection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Ok, I have never had Creme Brulee so I have nothing to compare it with but this was so good. I loved it! I will make again. Heaven on a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laclede, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This recipe was much easier to make than I thought it would be and it was absolutely mouth watering. My boyfriend and I ate the entire dish in one day! We added sliced strawberries, white chocolate shavings and crumbled heath bar and it was the best dessert we have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Excellent! I had to use heavy cream because it is all I had, and it still came out wonderfully. It may come out a bit runnier than it should be, but it still thickened, the top carmelized beautifully and it tastes yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Was very excited to make this recipe, however was pretty disappointed with the flavor. It tastes ok as long as you have some of the melted brown sugar top, otherwise the custard is pretty bland by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
The taste was really good, however I don't think it thinkened enough. I cooked it for about 30 minutes on the double boiler. When I first put the spoon in, the back was coated thinly. I suppose I didn't let it thicken anywhere near enoguh. The sugar on the top never browned, and the top layer cooked like an egg, so it was a little wierd. However, I want to try this again, letting it thicken more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
My friends and I tried this creme brulee recipe and, though it tasted good, the consistency was soupy and watery--- nothing like creme brulee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States