Creme Brulee III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is slightly runny and not very creme brulee like. I found it to be more like a whipped pudding than a thick custard that is creme brulee. It did not taste bad but, I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Very good! Just need to let the sauce cool for at least an hour before baking,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caramellover
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I love this receipe so much!!!!!!!! Thank you very much for sharing it with us. I didn't know what double boiler is and I have used stimmer for boiling creme.I have used light cream and the desert is just wonderful ,the most important is that it is authentic and I used to eat it in European hotels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caramellover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I used heavy whipping cream instead of light cream. I poured it into 4 custard cups and topped each with 1 Tablespoon of white sugar, which I browned with a torch. This recipe got RAVES from my guests. It is so simple, but so elegant and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIFIGIRLM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cass Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Overall this recipe was a success. The only problem I had with it was I used a rectangular glass pan instead of the usual little bowl-like dishes in which the dessert is usually served in. Therefore, my poor Creme Brulee was overdosed with an excessive amount of brown sugar, which I highly do not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
It tasted like crême brulé, but its consistency was all wrong. I used a double-boiler and cooked it to a point. The mixture started getting lumpy before it coated the back of a metal spoon. So in the end the base was lumpy and liquidy. Also, the brown sugar broiled part did eventually brown in the oven, and form the proper crust, but the molasses tasted out of place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Easy to make and came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Very easy to make.. I noticed another reviewer didn't get bubbles.. she probably did but you need to stir it or lift the pot so that you can see the under the surface along the side of the pot.. that is where they form.. And using full cream makes this recipe waayyy more creamy.. all in all very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I tried this mainly to get rid of three eggs I had sitting around, and didn't want to fiddle around separating them and wasting the whites! Turned out kind of runny and almost like really really loose scrambled egg. Maybe the heat was too high when it was on the stove. Tastes ok though and I'll eat it myself over fruit for dessert. Probably won't try making this again - it's too finicky (for me) to get it thickened without scrambling the eggs. I LOVE creme brulee but I'll leave it to the restaurants to make and have it as a treat when I go out for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
My friends and I tried this creme brulee recipe and, though it tasted good, the consistency was soupy and watery--- nothing like creme brulee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States