Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I tried this recipe twice. First exactly as the recipe states and second as suggested by another reviewer (with an extra egg yolk and whipping cream instead of heavy cream). The first test was watery and took over an hour to set properly in the oven. It never had a that custard-like texture that I love. The second test was better, but still not satisfactory. This one took just under an hour to set up and still had a grease-like liquid surface that had to be poured off (even after allowing to cool in the fridge for 6 hours) before it was palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blanding, Utah, USA
Living In: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I was a little disappointed by the consistency. It was runny so I looked at otehr recipes and the majority of the other recipes used a ration of 5 egg yolk to the 2 cups of cream. It still tasted good, but was a very thin custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
this always comes out good for me. but if you do not have a kitchen torch it is best to let the creme brulee settle first before placing it back into the oven with the brown sugar on top so that it can caramelize. thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This turned out utterly divine! I'm so excited that I no longer have to go to a restaurant to get my favorite dessert! I used an extra egg yolk as some people suggested but aside from that I followed the recipe to a t. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cali, Valle Del Cauca, Colombia
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Just what I hoped for. I did follow the tip and used 3 egg yolks for 2 servings - made in heart shape ramkeins with heart shaped Scottish Shortbread I for valentines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This turned out great, even with two different sizes of ramekins cooking at the same time. I have had Creme Brulee with a hint of lavender at a local restaurant and it's a real treat. This recipe works well with that treatment. (Take a loose tea infuser and add dried lavender buds. Add to the cream mixture as it is warming up.) I can imagine that this would work with many things -- lemon peel, cinnamon, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roslyn, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I adjusted the recipe to serve 2 and added an extra yolk - next time I think i will add another to make the custard even firmer. the flavor was very good - over all i really enjoyed it and it was VERY easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I tried this recipe twice. The first time it didn't set for me at all. We ended up drinking it with a straw. I tried it again with heavier cream (whipping cream instead of half and half), and baked for 45 minutes instead of the 37 minutes I baked it at the first time. I also added another egg yolk. We also did a test with both brown sugar and white sugar on top, and using the torch method, the brown sugar ended up burning and had to be scraped off. So I wouldn't try that again unless I used the oven broiler. With those modifications, I would rate the recipe with 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was extremely easy to make. I followed the advice of others by adding 4 yolks, alittle more sugar and vanilla. This was absolutely wonderful! It was nice to add something to our friend dinner that no one has made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I followed some of the tips from other reviewers and upped the egg yolks considerably, and this was so delicious I could have cried. Creme brulee is my absolute favorite dessert, but I've never made it at home before because I didn't think I could do it justice. This was so creamy and rich and just amazing. It's my favorite thing I've ever done for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States