Creme Brulee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2004
I haven't made this person's recipe, but I have made Creme Brulee a number of times at a restaraunt. Some observations; 1. Seems light on the eggs. If I were making this would probably add 1 more yolk. Three yolks might be fine. Trial and error. 2. Cover pan with foil? Seems unneccesary, though it might just be an aid to cut down on overall baking time which I expected to be closer to 35-40 minutes. I usually leave them in the oven until the custard tops set and start to show signs of developing darker spots on top. The spots become unnoticible (irrelevant) after you caramelize the sugar on top. 3. Unless you caramelize the sugar on top it's not really creme brulee'. This step is done only when you are about to serve this dessert. Doing it beforehand and putting it in the fridge is an unpleasant experience (sugar becomes liquified). Use enough sugar (white or turbinado) on top or your ramekin to get a nice light covering (you should still be able to see the custard). Light your torch and start melting the sugar on top in a circular motion. You're not done until the sugar has gotten bubbly and brown. Garnish & Serve! Note: With this recipe, you could substitute the vanilla extract for 1/2 a vanilla bean. Add the split bean & scraped seeds to the heated milk, not the egg mixture. Remove the bean shell before adding to egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I tried this recipe because it was so different from the one I usually make. (From the book, Elegantly Easy Creme Brulee.) First of all, it lacks enough eggs to make it a rich creamy custard. There was hardly an egg flavor at all. And the stovetop step is not needed. The recipe I use takes the cold cream right from the icebox and mixes it with the sugar/egg mixture. I'll just stick to my tried and true recipe from the book. (2 cups cream, 1/3 cup sugar, 1 teas. vanilla, 8 egg yolks...and no pre-cooking before it goes into the oven.) Also, brown sugar is so hard to work with...I would only use white sugar for the topping. I'm sure you meant butane, not propane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I followed the advice of the other makers and used 4 eggs yolks. However, I double the recipe (using 8 egg yolks). I used one Calphalon metal 13x9 tray and one Pyrex glass cassarole. The ramekins in the baking dish turned out great. The ramekins in the glass would not set, and it did not matter how long I let it bake. For everyone having a problem with the recipe not setting, make sure to use a metal bakeware. I am sure that was the problem because the ingredients were exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This was awesome. My boyfriend is a MAJOR cooking snob and he was SO down on me when I said I was going to make creme brulee. He basically laughed in my face and said "impossible". Whit this recipe, it IS possible. I followed the reviews and made it with 4 eggs, and I also upped the cooking time to EXACTLY 45 minutes. It couldn't have come out more perfect. He was definitely eating his words and I got a huge apology. This is going to be SO great to make at dinner parties and such, as it will SUPER impress. I gave it 4 stars ONLY because of the edits that it needed. Stick the the 4 egg yolks and 45 minutes and you'll be SET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This turned out just awful. I even tried making it a second time - same results. Wouldn't set. I even baked it 1 hr and 10 minutes, and it still wouldn't set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
On my first trial the custard didn't set all the way. The times were followed exactly. The sugar topping was also inconsistent. On the second try, I added another yolk (4 total) and decreased the sugar topping to ~ 1.5 tsp. It came out perfectly; the custard set and the sugar melted quickly and predictably. I also let the ramekins cool to room temp before putting in the fridge to avoid condensation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I have been making this recipe for about 2 years, and LOVE it - I also use 4 egg yolks and a little more vanilla, and it turns out perfectly every time. I have never had to strain the mixture as others have mentioned - the trick is to continually and vigorously whisk the egg mixture while SLOWLY incorporating the hot cream a tiny bit at a time; otherwise, the hot cream will cook the eggs and you will end up with lumps. Also make sure to use a thin layer of sugar, or it will not caramelize properly - I personally find white sugar to work best. This is my dessert recipe of choice to serve to dinner guests! I think it is every bit as good as the creme brulee served in most restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Bow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Hey! This is a tasty recipe. I have been taking pastry classes and I discoved something. Chef's recomend NOT to use brown sugar on top because of the moisture content and it affects overall appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I love this recipe. Very simple, and it usually turns out wonderfully. Unfortunately, I made it for 6 people tonight and I forgot to increase the cooking time for the extra custard to set. It looked runny when I took it out of the oven after 30 minutes, so I should have known. I hoped it would set in the fridge but it didn't. So if you increase serving size, remember to increase oven time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Good recipe, however you forgot to mention that the baking pan should be covered loosely with foil before putting into the oven. Otherwise, the custard tops will be brown and when it cools down, it becomes soggy. Not a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States