Creme Brulee I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
I've been trying to find an easy recipe that still tastes good and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawning Dreams
Home Town: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ada, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I was really disappointed, the custard never set up over night. Ended up dumping it out after 18 hours of chill time. Ended up making another recipe that is baked and that worked out quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Not worth the effort – Custard did not ever set. Favor was great (added a touch of vanilla bean), and ease of preparation was great, but overall was very disappointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe. I found it simple to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
We refrigerated it for over 24 hours but it never set. I had to throw the whole thing away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Very disappointed. I wish I had read the reviews first as the custard did not set for us either and was used for a school project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
It tastes wonderful, but the broiler melted the chilled, molded creme into a liquid. Must use kitchen torch to avoid liquifying creme. I didn't broil the second one, and just served cold with brown sugar and raspberries. It was tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I didn't try the broiling, and I had some trouble with the texture (probably because I lacked an electric mixer and couldn't mix the egg yolks and sugar well enough), but it came out pretty well, and was definitely easy. I only made a two-person serving, and added about a 1/4-tsp of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
this was the worst version of creme brulee ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
There is no way in the world that this recipe would serve 8. I have a set of professional-grade creme brulee ramekins, and I was barely able to fill 4 of them. Also, the custard did not set up until I added a 5th egg yolk. Tastes fine now, but 4 of the 8 people I invited for dinner will not be having dessert. Good think I made shortbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States