Creme Brulee I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This NEVER set! I've got in in the oven right now to see if I can recover. Another recipe says to bake it at 300 for 25-30 minutes... hope it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
i never made creme brulee before and thought i'd try this recipe...boy was i wrong!!....they left out the most important direction: bake the brulee!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I had NO problem whatsoever w/ making the custard, it set up beautifully and tasted wonderful. The only change I made, I omitted the raspberries, and added a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract, instead of the brown sugar I used turbinado sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was my first try at making Creme Brulee and it turned out terrible! It didn't set at all and I chilled it for 24 hours. Most recipes call for it to be baked in the oven...but this turned out terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
There is no way in the world that this recipe would serve 8. I have a set of professional-grade creme brulee ramekins, and I was barely able to fill 4 of them. Also, the custard did not set up until I added a 5th egg yolk. Tastes fine now, but 4 of the 8 people I invited for dinner will not be having dessert. Good think I made shortbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
this was the worst version of creme brulee ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I didn't try the broiling, and I had some trouble with the texture (probably because I lacked an electric mixer and couldn't mix the egg yolks and sugar well enough), but it came out pretty well, and was definitely easy. I only made a two-person serving, and added about a 1/4-tsp of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
It tastes wonderful, but the broiler melted the chilled, molded creme into a liquid. Must use kitchen torch to avoid liquifying creme. I didn't broil the second one, and just served cold with brown sugar and raspberries. It was tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Very disappointed. I wish I had read the reviews first as the custard did not set for us either and was used for a school project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
We refrigerated it for over 24 hours but it never set. I had to throw the whole thing away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States