Creme Brulee I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This NEVER set! I've got in in the oven right now to see if I can recover. Another recipe says to bake it at 300 for 25-30 minutes... hope it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
i never made creme brulee before and thought i'd try this recipe...boy was i wrong!!....they left out the most important direction: bake the brulee!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I had NO problem whatsoever w/ making the custard, it set up beautifully and tasted wonderful. The only change I made, I omitted the raspberries, and added a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract, instead of the brown sugar I used turbinado sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was my first try at making Creme Brulee and it turned out terrible! It didn't set at all and I chilled it for 24 hours. Most recipes call for it to be baked in the oven...but this turned out terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
There is no way in the world that this recipe would serve 8. I have a set of professional-grade creme brulee ramekins, and I was barely able to fill 4 of them. Also, the custard did not set up until I added a 5th egg yolk. Tastes fine now, but 4 of the 8 people I invited for dinner will not be having dessert. Good think I made shortbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
this was the worst version of creme brulee ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I didn't try the broiling, and I had some trouble with the texture (probably because I lacked an electric mixer and couldn't mix the egg yolks and sugar well enough), but it came out pretty well, and was definitely easy. I only made a two-person serving, and added about a 1/4-tsp of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
It tastes wonderful, but the broiler melted the chilled, molded creme into a liquid. Must use kitchen torch to avoid liquifying creme. I didn't broil the second one, and just served cold with brown sugar and raspberries. It was tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Very disappointed. I wish I had read the reviews first as the custard did not set for us either and was used for a school project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
We refrigerated it for over 24 hours but it never set. I had to throw the whole thing away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States