Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was great and got good reviews from the whole family!! I did the following substitutions as others had suggested and I think they were dead on. I used 3/4c brown sugar and only 1 Tbls. corn syrup. (Now that I have made this I might sub maple syrup for the corn syrup next time.) I only used 4 eggs and it was plenty "eggy". I can see what others were talking about. I was able to fit 8 slices of French Bread in the 9" x 13" pan. I left the crusts on with excellent results. I would suggest not skimping on the orange liqueur as it definitely added the extra layer of flavor that made it an "over the top" recipe. Our liqueur stores sell small samples of liqueur at the registers, and I was able to buy that for just a couple bucks!! I sprinkled the top with cinnamon before baking. Would recommend that too. After the casserole was done baking I flipped all the slices over and put the dish under the broiler for just a few minutes to brown the tops until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
857 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Important safety note! Several reviews have mentioned broiling as a final step. Be sure NOT to do this if using glass ovenware such as Pyrex, which specifically warns against broiling at the risk of shattering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
527 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This is a great recipe that is much requested at family gatherings. I make a couple of changes as follows: I use 1/2 teaspoon orange extract in place of the liqueur or omit it entirely - you won't really miss it. Use challah or Hawaiian sweet bread instead of french bread. Don't bother to remove the crusts and pack your pan tightly with bread pieces cut 1" thick to absorb the excess liquid. (I use almost an entire loaf of challah for one pan.) Melt the butter in the microwave, stir in the brown sugar and corn syrup and then pour into the pan. The sugar will dissolve during the baking process. No need to bring the pan to room temperature before baking. Invert the pieces as you serve them. The brown sugar mixture is a substitute for syrup, don't use additional syrup when you serve or it will be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was a delicious recipe that I made for Easter brunch. We all loved it, and overall I would make it again for a weekend treat. Perfect for make-ahead night before. I read ALL the reviews before I proceeded and combined all the wonderful suggestions, as I beleive that helped make this recipe even better. I used a large loaf of 2-day old French bread and left crusts on --- this is soooo key, and especially helpful in "flipping" half-way through baking (you MUST to this to saturate the bread fully, otherwise too eggy as others warned), and then again at the end before broiling to get the caramel sauce nice and brown and bubbly. If you left the crusts OFF, I beleive it would be too soggy and not as "chewy". I made it with 4 egss, and thought it turned out great. I used 1 TBL vanilla vs 1 tsp. The Grand Marnier is a must, or do something to bring out the orange flavor even more (I will add orange zest next time in additon to a TBL more of GM). I did add cinnamon to egg mixture before dipping each slice of bread into it. Then, I poured the remaining egg mixture over the entire thing before putting in fridge overnight. I used 1 TBL maple syrup v. corn syrup (liked this!!). Served with slices of strawberries for more elegant presentation (will do seasonal berry for future). I used about 8 slices of bread per pan (vs 6) at LEAST 1 inch thick is a must as well, and liked having these individual servings when flipping and plating. I also like the idea of using a Frenc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I made this today for an afternoon snack. I didn't have any french bread, so I used regular loaf bread and left the crusts on. I didn't soak it overnight, just prepared it and stuck it in the oven. After it was done, I cut it into slices and inverted it onto a serving platter so the brown sugar would be on top. It turned out delicious. No need to sit in the fridge overnight if you were pressed for time like me. Thanks Sandi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was very good and scores extra points for easiness! I had no problem with sogginess, I really think the key is to use stale bread (mine was 2 days old). Mine turned out a bit eggy, but I think maybe that was my fault - I didn't beat the eggs enough. But it was pretty and fluffy when it was finished. Still, I'm considering cutting out one of the eggs the next time I make it. I did make some changes though. I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and only 1 tblsp of corn syrup. It was the perfect amount of sweetness. I didn't bother to remove the crust from the bread. It's not necessary. Also, to all of those people who are leaving out the Grand Marnier, you are missing the point... the orange flavor is what gives this its Creme Brulee taste! As for me, I decided to use 1/2 tsp. of orange extract instead and that did the trick for me. Just a hint of citrus, much like Creme Brulee. I cooked it for about 37 minutes and it came out perfectly. It was a practice run for a shower brunch I'm throwing, & I'll definitely leave it on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Fantastic! Not soggy at all. Have made this recipe a few times and is always perfect. The Carmel that forms on the bottom is SO good. I altered it a bit, insted I used French bread, left out the Brandy and used milk rather than half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I made this for my daughter's Christening brunch and it got rave reviews from children and adults alike. I used less expensive triple sec for the orange flavor, still tasted wonderful. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Very good and easy. I used a smaller loaf of french bread so had 18 slices in the pan. Next time I would cut the bread in 1/2 inch slices. They absorbed too much of the egg/milk mixture so the top half of the bread was dryer than I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
A lot of work for something my family did not like. No one liked the custard-like consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States