Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
AWESOME recipe. I grated some orange peel also and let it sit over night. It made the orange flavor just explode. VERY filling. My Hubby said," This is SO GOOD! I should have eaten just one." I told him," You did eat just one."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This does actually taste like crème brulee, just a little more eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Very good, cook for 40 mins, and then put oven to 425 and cook till toast Browns. I also used maple syrup instead of corn syrup, and only 4 eggs. Also use 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Call me Sherlock. I just made this for my family, and contrary to most reviews, mine turned out dry on the top. It didn't totally ruin the dish though, after baking, I flipped each piece over in the pan so the tops were moist--and the flavor was wonderful. The important thing is that it made me realize why there were so many varying degrees of success with this recipe: It's not that there are too many eggs or too much milk or anything faulty with the recipe. It's the bread. I'm reading that some have used pre-sliced sourdough--I know the bread, and it's MAYBE 1/2" thick. The bread/liquid ratio is off, leaving a soggy, soupy mess. Others are using roughly 1 to 1-1/4" slices with great success. Me? I LOVE big, fat slices of French bread for my French toast, so I cut my slices at least 2" thick, making the bread to liquid ratio off again, only in the opposite direction. Mine was dry. To make matters worse, I had company for the weekend and wanted to make sure that I had enough French toast to serve for breakfast, so I squished and squeezed and pushed and pinched every slice of an entire loaf of bread into my 9"x13"--until I thought it was going to spring up and hit me in the face. Rookie move! I should have known better, but after enjoying the beautiful flavor of the dish, I know now that I can have my 2" giant slices, I just need to adjust the liquids to accommodate that preference. I may have to make it 2 mo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
No left over with this.... Don't be on a diet. Hehe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Branson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mr Mom
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Great recipe, very well received. Followed advice of other people and filled the pan with bread, used 4 eggs, used 2 tbs of grand mamarnier. Instead of flipping during baking, I poured 1/2 the butter mixture on the bottom of the pan and the other 1/2 on top of the bread. Great recipe and suggestions - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I just put this together-can't wait till after church tomorrow to bake it! I added black walnuts to the butter sugar mixture as we are a nut family also added orange zest to the egg mixture! We love creme brûlée so this should be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I will never make this again! Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Have to add my five stars to this - bread pudding has never done well in the family, but this one got gobbled up (one piece leftover; I was told it was just as good when reheated). Did leave out the salt as I had only salted butter; subbed orange zest for the liqueur. Did not cut the crusts off the bread. Thanks so much - we'll enjoy this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I thought this was very good and a fancy looking dish to serve guests or family. I made it in a smaller pan so reduced all amounts accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States