Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Super delicious....sheesh!! Didn't change a thing and we loved it! I made this for my husband on his birthday and he's requested that I make it for him every year from now on. WIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IleneRoberds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Will
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This Recipe is awesome! We make this for special occasions and it's always a hit. I like to flip the toast an hour or two before I bake it so the caramel will cover the bread. I've done this with sour dough and brioche, and both were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I am a private Chef and Caterer I tried this today and loved it will use it in my work as a regular piece thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I've been making this for years!! I used homemade challah and it was outrageous!! I didn't remove the crust because it was delicious bread. I also left out the Gran Marnier and it was totally eaten so I don't think it's a critical ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
There wasn't a lot of flavor. A lot of people said it's too sweet. The caramel layer is, of course, plenty sweet. The egg mixture, however, needs sugar, and cinnamon (or something to give it depth). Also, I would agree it's not really French toast. It's more like bread pudding. It's OK but not worth the calories and carbs. With the tweaking I mentioned, it might be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I have been making this exact same recipe for 13 years.Its my favorite holiday & for that special company breakfast dish. I love that it can be made ahead and it can sit over night. Everyone loves it & wants the recipe. I use more eggs per 13 by 9 pan and its not eggy at all. I wish my grocery stores carried bricohe bread, but they don't,so I use that extra thick french toast bread in pkg and works fine. I squeeeze the bread slices in and get about 8 in a pan over the syrup before I pour the egg liquid over the top. I use grand marnier & I use more than called for - its a keeper recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I have been making this dish for many years and it is always a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I've made this before just for the family, however, I need to feed a large crowd and wonder if I can layer the bread to fill the half size steam table aluminum pan. Anyone know? thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Centre, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
It was scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made it with 4 eggs and about 3/4 cups brown sugar as suggested. No need for syrup and it was delicious! It is easy to put together so I'll make it for Christmas morning for sure now. I didn't have half and half but I had heavy whipping cream so I used a cup of that and half a cup of milk. I also used normal bread slices. I ended up using 8 slices. Two of them were cut into smaller pieces and squeezed into every possible area in the pan! It turned out well. I did skip the orange liquor but next time I'll be sure to put orange extract to make it taste more like my favorite dessert as others have suggested. Thank you so much for this recipe:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States