Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The BEST thing I've ever tasted!!! I make an overnight French toast every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas, but nothing as good as this. AMAZING!! I used challah bread and orange liquor and also reduced the eggs as others suggested. I think I will double the recipe next time and make a double layer of bread to make a thicker French toast, still using the sane size pan. Can't wait for Christmas morning to eat this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Everyone seemed to enjoy this! The only change I made is that I used only 4 eggs, like others suggested. Other than that I made the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made it just like it said and it was yummy deliciousness. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Excellent! I didn't have corn syrup so I just used some "pancake syrup" that I had in the cabinet. I also used two teaspoons of Grand Marnier because I just wanted to. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Addict

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this today gave it a a 3-star rating at best. I think my first mistake was cutting the brown sugar in half. I didn't get that wonderful sauce at the bottom of mine and I think that is why. Cutting she sugar to 3/4 a cup like others have done might work fine, but if I try this again, I'm going to start with the entire 1 cup (as excessively sweet as that may seem). I also got the eggy consistency that others have mentioned. My Mom's version didn't have this. I'm not sure why, but I'm guessing that I got this because my bread didn't completely cover the bottom of the baking dish. The next time I try this, I think I will completely cover every square inch of the dish as possible. That way the bread will absorb all of the egg mixture. The only other change I made (except halving the sugar and leaving the custs on) was using 1-2 tbs of orange juice instead of grand marnier because I didn't have it. But here is my main point: many reviewers are saying this is an easy or foolproof recipe. Perhaps if your cooking level is excellent, it is. But if your cooking level is any less than excellent, I would not experiment too much with this recipe the first time, except to leave the crusts on. This is a recipe where technique is essential for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I haven't finished trying variations, but, reduce by one egg and double the grand mariner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Everyone loved this recipe. I only wish I made doubles. They went FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Willems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was excellent! Made two batches and had company that loved it! There was none left and everyone raved about it. I did use Grand Marnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was pretty good and I guess I would make it again, but for a different "audience" . I cut the amount way down as it was just for my husband and I. Being so rich we could only eat a small amount. I think this is a "girly" breakfast being so sweet. Rather like eating a giant caramel roll. Might cut down on the brown sugar base next time and my feeling is it definitely needs a meat served with it to offset the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I made this and put it in the oven right away - no problems. I substituted honey for corn starch, and some baileys and whiskey for the orange liquor. I put 8 slices of regular wheat multigrain sliced bread (with crust on) in two layers in an 8"x8" pan. I flipped over the bread at the halfway point of 20 minutes. Not soggy or too egg-y. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States