Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
When visiting my daughter years ago, she made this dish for us and it was delicious. I needed this receipe and it has been a big hit with visitors and family. It's crunchy, sweet and easy to make. Just love this dish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
So this is not really French toast. The name is very deceiving. French toast is a breakfast food. This is more like bread pudding. No shame in eating that for breakfast though. Loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Delicious. I made a lower cal version that was very good. Used sourdough bread with crust on, Splenda mix brown sugar, salted butter (and then did not add more salt), 1/2 cup nonfat milk and 1/2 cup half and half, sugar free maple syrup instead of the corn syrup, and 4 eggs. I definitely agree with those who say 5 eggs and 1 1/2 cup half and half is too much liquid. I was not able to get the topping crunchy like a creme brûlée even though I did flip it and put it under the broiler as many suggested. It may be due to using the Splenda brown sugar, which requires only 1/2 cup. All in all a great dessert and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this for Christmas morning breakfast and it was a great success!! Believe it or not I used Texas toast because every store was out of both french and italian. I left it sit out for about a day and a half to dry out. I also used maple syrup in place of corn syrup, decreased brown sugar to 3/4 cup, one less egg and turned the toast over half way through. I did sprinkle a touch of cinnamon. Mostly for coloring not taste. Dangerous to put broiler on with glass baking dish. Anyhow, it was a huge success and everyone raved on about the dish!! This goes into the books!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was really easy to make and very delicious. I served with maple flavored sausages. Even the leftovers for later in the day were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This may well become our Christmas morning tradition! The only thing we have say about it at this point is it seemed a little to 'eggy'. Next time we are goo to scale that back a bit. Otherwise, perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
WOW! made this several times already. So good. The recipe is always requested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
We liked this a lot and it was great that I could assemble it the night before. For those who said that they don't like the custardy consistency. Crème Brulee IS a custard, so that is what you should have expected. It is sweet and you kind of need to serve some kind of protein with it such as bacon or sausage. It's a great breakfast for the crowd who spends the night after a party or on Christmas or New Years morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and the eggs in the french toast did not set properly. The resulting texture was that of uncooked eggs. It also seemed to have too much eggs, I would cut them back in the future. But the flavor was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made the french toast this morning. It was a very easy recipe to follow. The texture of the bread was wonderful after cooking. The only complaint I have is that my brown sugar crust stuck to the pan and the custard was a bit bland for my taste. I'm used to the burst of cinnamon. Otherwise...a good recipe or even a base for adding to it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States