Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I just put this together-can't wait till after church tomorrow to bake it! I added black walnuts to the butter sugar mixture as we are a nut family also added orange zest to the egg mixture! We love creme brûlée so this should be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I will never make this again! Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Have to add my five stars to this - bread pudding has never done well in the family, but this one got gobbled up (one piece leftover; I was told it was just as good when reheated). Did leave out the salt as I had only salted butter; subbed orange zest for the liqueur. Did not cut the crusts off the bread. Thanks so much - we'll enjoy this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I thought this was very good and a fancy looking dish to serve guests or family. I made it in a smaller pan so reduced all amounts accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe was great! I used regular milk it was all i had, and added a big dollop of sour cream, also used maple syrup instead of corn syrup, I also added about 1/4 cup of baileys. Put it in the fridge in the morning and had it five hours later for lunch. Absolutely Fantastitc! I didn't use orange liqiure, but I did add 2 T of Blood Orange Olive Oil from "Olive Us"... and it added just that extra layer of flavour! wonderful! We will make this our new Sunday company dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe was in my e-mail the other day and I decided to try it after reading and determining I liked the ingredients. For anyone trying to add to Brunch items, this is a keeper. Excellent, very easy and number 1 it can be made any where from 1-3 days before. NOW IF YOU DO NOT LIKE BREAD PUDDING, OR SOFT CENTER OF FRENCH TOAST, OR DO NOT HAVE THE ABILITY TO FOLLOW DIRECTIONS ( soak overnight, remove from and allow to come to room temp. before oven, or what an orange zest is. ) THEN DO NOT TRY TO MAKE. THIS IS PROBADLY TOO DIFFICULT FOR YOU. This is for most of the one star people. Thank you, SANDIPANTS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
After reading numerous reviews I modified the recipe just a bit to reduce the brown sugar, add cinnamon, going with maple syrup, leaving the crust on the French bread, reducing the egg count and broil glazed side up after baking. It was easy and worth the wait overnight in the fridge. Modified Ingredients: 6 TBS unsalted butter 3/4 cup packed brown sugar 1 ½ TBS maple syrup 6 (1 ½ inch thick) slices of French bread cut on a diagonal 4 large eggs 1 1/4 cups half-and-half 1 tsp vanilla extract 1 tsp orange liqueur (Grand Marnier®, Triple sec, or orange extract) 1/4 tsp salt 1/4 tsp cinnamon Directions: 1. Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Mix in brown sugar and maple syrup, stirring until sugar is dissolved. Spread into a 9x13 inch baking dish. 2. Arrange bread slices in the baking dish in a single layer. 3. In a bowl, whisk together eggs, half and half, vanilla, orange liqueur, cinnamon and salt until well blended. Pour over the bread. Cover and chill at least 8 hrs or overnight. 4. Remove the dish from the fridge, bring to room temp then preheat oven to 350 degrees F. 5. Bake uncovered 35 to 40 minutes until lightly browned. 6. Remove from oven, flip bread over and broil for 5-6 minutes until the brown sugar coating is bubbling. Note: if baking in a Pyrex dish (not broiler safe), transfer the bread to a metal pan for broiling. 7. Sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired, garnish with a side of berries, bacon, whatever, and serve. AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tunamelt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So good, and so easy! I used pancake syrup in place of the corn syrup, because it was on hand, and I left the crust on the bread. Followed the remainder of the recipe as written. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I love this recipe with a "FEW" changes/ 1. I used a very denies 7 grain bread with crust on. 2. 1/4 cup brown sugar with 2 TB honey 3. Unsweetened almond milk ( never use regular milk or heavier) don't even have it in the house. 4. Very genius portion of Grand Marine. Turned out very well - will make it again SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I peeled and slice apples on top of the brown sugar. Everything just melts in you mouth! Great for when all 4 of my daughters are home with their families..easy make ahead and breakfast is a breeze. I have also had it with sausage lunks cooked and extra grease taken off then layered in pieces on top of brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States