Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Made this recipe for breakfast for a weekend with friends. It was a huge hit, everyone wanted the recipe. Delicious and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Made this for the first time for my Mother's Day brunch and it was a big hit!!! I was even asked for the recipe. I did make one change, I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This is a great recipe. First time I made it I had cut the crusts off and the bread was a little thinner than 1". I had soggy bread. I made it today for Mother's Day and used 1" French bread and left the crust on. Made a huge difference. No soggy bread. Consistency was perfect. I did however not melt the brown sugar enough before I put it in the pan. Came out with a gritty texture but flavourful. Next time I will dissolve the sugar better and flip the toast over to finish it off as others have suggested. Thank you Sandi for submitting this. It is now my go-to recipe for brunches and special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
We loved it! fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agnieszka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made this for Sunday brunch this weekend. I needed to make 2 pans of the french toast and so I used the recipe calculator to increase the servings & adjust the ingredients. What a fiasco. The brown sugar/butter mixture to pour on the bottom was just barely enough to cover the bottom of the pans. I used the amounts of other ingredients in the amounts the on-line calculator listed. It called for 9 1/4 eggs! The adjusted recipe made way, way too much egg mixture. I poured it in both pans to cover the bread & I still had enough left over to fill a 3rd pan. I refrigerated overnight & in the morning the bread was still sitting in the egg mixture to the level of half way up the bread. Since others had complained about it being too custardy, I poured off some of the egg mixture. It took longer to cook than the directions said but I watched it carefully for the extra 5 minutes. It was brown & puffy on top but when I served it, It had a layer of "jelly" on the bottom. The adults ate it politely but my 2- twenty somethings only had a couple bites. And they are not picky eaters. They will & do eat almost anything & everything. NEXT TIME I will make much less of the egg mixture and probably turn the toast half way through so both sides get crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I made this recipe for Easter brunch. It was very yummy. I did read reviews beforehand and made a couple changes but next time I will follow the recipe as is with the exception of leaving the crust on the bread and adding orange peel like the video indicated. I had made it with one less egg and only 1 cup of cream. Didn't think it had enough egg mixture so that goes to show you sometimes you should just follow the recipe. I didn't have any orange based liqueur so used just regular brandy. The french toast came out crispy and yummy, Thanks Sandipants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made this for Easter brunch and it was a hit! I liked that I could make it the night before and just pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This recipie is outstanding ! Great reviews from my guests at Easter brunch. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and only added 3/4 cup brown sugar ands Tbs of maple syrup instead of corn syrup. Also I went a little heavy on the Orange liquor and it was delish! I also layered some of the bread to fit more in and just cut into it like a bread pudding. It was perfect, thanks for a great recipie !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Shared this for Easter Sunday brunch at church!! Everyone loved it and wants the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This recipe is easily enhanced by putting a layer of thinly sliced apples in the dish on top of the brown sugar/butter/syrup mixture - before you add the bread and custard mixture. To keep the apples from oxidizing, I tossed them in the Grand Marnier, while I completed the other steps of the recipe. I think of this as the Tarte Tatin version. Next week, instead of apples and Grand Marnier, I'll use bananas and rum - for the Bananas Foster version. I used home made sandwich bread and the one inch thick slices were a bit too thick - for my taste - and the next time will use thinner slices. This is a superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States