Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
A huge hit for Christmas morning, and it was super easy to prepare the night before. I gave it 4 stars only because of the alterations I made based on the other reviews. I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and maple syrup instead of corn syrup. I used 4 eggs and 8 slices of French bread and kept the crusts on. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylovesu2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
My family loves this recipe. They said no more plain French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious !!! I make this every Christmas Eve and it's perfect for popping in the oven on Christmas morning... No muss no fuss :). I also cut up strawberries and blueberries to add to top after baking ... sheer perfection ! We also sprinkle on powdered sugar ... My kids can't wait , it has become a family tradition each year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. Even if you follow or don't follow the recipe it's a huge hit for my family and I've been making this for Christmas Breakfast for the last few years. I dare not stray from tradition ;) I only came back for the ingredients for shopping today. Instead of the french bread though I use Texas Toast and I have left the crusts on and have taken it off. My family prefers I leave the crusts on merely because of the fact that that means there's more of it! The one thing that I do to the toast is let it sit out and become a little stale from the air or I toast it in the toaster for a little bit. I think this helps with the sogginess that some people complain about. But I do that for any french toast recipe. One time I forgot to buy the half and half, so I just used milk and sour cream and blended them and it worked out fine. The crucial part I don't change is the corn syrup and brown sugar. That makes the perfect crunchy crust. I do love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Amazing, I used cinnamon swirl bread sliced 1/2 inch thick and don't use any Grand Marnier. I spread the brown sugar/ butter mixture over the bottom of my pan added a layer of cinnamon bread poured 3/4 of the egg mixture over the bread, layered another layer of bread & poured the remaining egg mixture over the bread and followed the rest of the recipe as suggested. Was so delish one of the woman who enjoyed it laughing told me it was better than sex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The BEST thing I've ever tasted!!! I make an overnight French toast every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas, but nothing as good as this. AMAZING!! I used challah bread and orange liquor and also reduced the eggs as others suggested. I think I will double the recipe next time and make a double layer of bread to make a thicker French toast, still using the sane size pan. Can't wait for Christmas morning to eat this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Everyone seemed to enjoy this! The only change I made is that I used only 4 eggs, like others suggested. Other than that I made the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made it just like it said and it was yummy deliciousness. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Excellent! I didn't have corn syrup so I just used some "pancake syrup" that I had in the cabinet. I also used two teaspoons of Grand Marnier because I just wanted to. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Addict

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this today gave it a a 3-star rating at best. I think my first mistake was cutting the brown sugar in half. I didn't get that wonderful sauce at the bottom of mine and I think that is why. Cutting she sugar to 3/4 a cup like others have done might work fine, but if I try this again, I'm going to start with the entire 1 cup (as excessively sweet as that may seem). I also got the eggy consistency that others have mentioned. My Mom's version didn't have this. I'm not sure why, but I'm guessing that I got this because my bread didn't completely cover the bottom of the baking dish. The next time I try this, I think I will completely cover every square inch of the dish as possible. That way the bread will absorb all of the egg mixture. The only other change I made (except halving the sugar and leaving the custs on) was using 1-2 tbs of orange juice instead of grand marnier because I didn't have it. But here is my main point: many reviewers are saying this is an easy or foolproof recipe. Perhaps if your cooking level is excellent, it is. But if your cooking level is any less than excellent, I would not experiment too much with this recipe the first time, except to leave the crusts on. This is a recipe where technique is essential for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States