Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe was great! I used regular milk it was all i had, and added a big dollop of sour cream, also used maple syrup instead of corn syrup, I also added about 1/4 cup of baileys. Put it in the fridge in the morning and had it five hours later for lunch. Absolutely Fantastitc! I didn't use orange liqiure, but I did add 2 T of Blood Orange Olive Oil from "Olive Us"... and it added just that extra layer of flavour! wonderful! We will make this our new Sunday company dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
After reading numerous reviews I modified the recipe just a bit to reduce the brown sugar, add cinnamon, going with maple syrup, leaving the crust on the French bread, reducing the egg count and broil glazed side up after baking. It was easy and worth the wait overnight in the fridge. Modified Ingredients: 6 TBS unsalted butter 3/4 cup packed brown sugar 1 ½ TBS maple syrup 6 (1 ½ inch thick) slices of French bread cut on a diagonal 4 large eggs 1 1/4 cups half-and-half 1 tsp vanilla extract 1 tsp orange liqueur (Grand Marnier®, Triple sec, or orange extract) 1/4 tsp salt 1/4 tsp cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tunamelt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So good, and so easy! I used pancake syrup in place of the corn syrup, because it was on hand, and I left the crust on the bread. Followed the remainder of the recipe as written. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I love this recipe with a "FEW" changes/ 1. I used a very denies 7 grain bread with crust on. 2. 1/4 cup brown sugar with 2 TB honey 3. Unsweetened almond milk ( never use regular milk or heavier) don't even have it in the house. 4. Very genius portion of Grand Marine. Turned out very well - will make it again SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I peeled and slice apples on top of the brown sugar. Everything just melts in you mouth! Great for when all 4 of my daughters are home with their families..easy make ahead and breakfast is a breeze. I have also had it with sausage lunks cooked and extra grease taken off then layered in pieces on top of brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was definitely something I'll make again. Made a couple substitutions. Read reviews about reducing brown sugar and eggs. Used only 4 eggs and 3/4 cup brown sugar, also didn't have half and half so I used 3/4 cup heavy cream and 3/4 cup skim milk. Substituted orange liquor with Parrot Bay coconut rum. Cooked at 350 but last five minutes increased temp to 405. Also baked right after I made it. This was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
OMG! This is not your usual French Toast. This is just plain sinful and so good. Make sure your bread is thick and a day old very tasty. Put a little powdered sugar on top when serving then place strawberries on the side of the plate plate. I have no idea how many calories but who cares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
So good! What a delicious breakfast and we top with fresh berries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Wouldn't change a thing, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Fiske

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States