Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Wow, this was so delicious. I made a double batch and used a big disposable aluminum pan. One whole loaf of slightly stale Italian bread (12 1 inch slices) fit perfectly. I cut back a bit on the brown sugar and used natural maple syrup instead of corn syrup as other reviewers suggested. I flipped them over half way through and broiled them for the last couple minutes. ( Be careful not to let them burn!) I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Super easy and very delicious I skipped the alcohol but added some speciality orange seasoning instead will definitely be making again and again. I also used my own French bread that I made from the French baguette recipe on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Was a hit in our house. I made for Christmas Morning and nothing was left. Made it exactly as specified - this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyptgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was delicious! I made this for Christmas morning brunch along with the Breakfast Pizza recipe from this site and everyone loved this. I did follow a few of the suggestions and cut the brown sugar down to 3/4 cup. Also, since I didn't have any orange liquer on hand I used about 1/2 tsp. of orange flavoring. This added just a hind of orange flavor. Overall a very easy recipe that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have tried this recipe twice and while the second time was better than the first, this is not a "simple" recipe for a novice cook. I was served this for breakfast by a chef acquaintance and loved it but I am apparently still missing something. The first time I made it, the bread was just downright soggy and I realized that I didn't let the bread get stale enough. This time, I brought french bread and gave it a couple of days to get stale. Took the suggestions regarding the brown sugar, increasing the orange liquer and using only 4 eggs. Otherwise, I followed the directions perfectly. I really thought I hit a homerun this time. I filled the pan with bread and it looked like the bread had soaked up the mixture pretty well. By the end of the cooking process, the bread was not the least bit soggy (I thought) and I was confident that I had found the holy grail of creme brulee french toast - that is until I flipped it over for browning. The bottom was a little wet but didn't seem overly so and yet, it didn't crisp up under the broiler as others had mentioned so while everything looked like it was going well, the end result was that this still seemed eggier and a little soggier than I remember. The flavor with the extra orange was good but not enough that I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We loved it. It was great for Christmas brunch. I didn't take the crusts off and it was just fine. The casserole does get hard on the bottom pretty quickly, so I kept it on the warm stove and served from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I followed the directions to a tee. It was wonderful! Almost more dessert than breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
A huge hit for Christmas morning, and it was super easy to prepare the night before. I gave it 4 stars only because of the alterations I made based on the other reviews. I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and maple syrup instead of corn syrup. I used 4 eggs and 8 slices of French bread and kept the crusts on. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylovesu2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
My family loves this recipe. They said no more plain French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States