Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made this today for my family. I did double it to make sure there was enough. Well, while the taste was very good, way to soggy. Most definitely way too much butter. I did add less brown sugar and corn syrup, but, geez, butter bubbled everywhere!! Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
So easy and a great treat for overnight guests. They had no idea how truly easy it was to prepare and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This recipe is so easy and so delicious! I didnt have any grand marnier so I used amaretto and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I've made this 3 times and everyone who tries it absolutely loves it! I use the hawaiian sweet rolls and I use milk instead of half and half to cut the calories a bit and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This made a fabulous french toast for our family on Christmas morning. However, my son loves to cook and we made a few revisions that worked wonderfully. We did not bake it like a casserole -but only dipped our eggs and then pan-fried the toast. We went a little light on the sugar (1/2 cup), omitted the corn syrup (did not have any), and substituted orange flavoring for the orange liqueur. We used gluten free bread for those family members that are GF and then used regular bread for everyone else. The thing that made it special was my son also added about a tablespoon of pumpkin pie seasoning. It was awesome. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is one of my family's favorite breakfast recipies. It seems that I never make it the same way twice. There are a few things that I do consistently however... I make the Carmel sauce on the bottom per the recipe. I cut up the French bread into chunks. The egg mixture I have fun with. Today I used the 5 eggs, added a cup of milk plus a half a cup of eggnog because I had it in the house. I added triple sec, again because I had it. I added vanilla a couple shakes of cinnamon and beat well with my whisk and poured over the bread making sure all was saturated well. Baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Cut into squares and "flip" it over when serving so the Carmel is on top.... Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by visum4us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made this several times using Portuguese sweet bread. The only change I make is not using the corn syrup. It turns out perfect as written. When serving, I invert the slices so the caramel is on top as others suggested. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Very good, worth the effort. I used Texas "toast" bread but next time I will definitely use thick sliced French (or Italian) bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Palmer Clements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this for a brunch that I hosted, and there was a fight over who would get to have the last piece! :) Excellent, easy, and a crowd-pleaser. As suggested, I decreased from 5 eggs to 4 and it was plenty enough. I was unable to find a French loaf, so I went with an Italian loaf with superb results. I was able to get 8 thick slices from my loaf and they fit in the dish just fine. If you do not have Grand Marnier or do not wish to use alcohol, you can substitute with orange extract (I did!) and it was perfect. Instead of corn syrup, I used pure maple syrup. So easy to just prepare in advance (and it is quick!) and it's ready for the oven in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This had a very good flovor but was really runny. I may use less cream next time or throw in another egg. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYLN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States