Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This is awesome! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Looked at many of the reviews and then made the recipe exactly as is. Exceptions: left the crust on the fresh grocery store variety french loaf, added some cinnamon spice mix to the top of the dish before baking. Baked it up to the forty minutes or so. The last few minutes of baking the whole casserole began to puff up beautifully!Didn't turn the bread or broil anything. A wonderful rich sauce formed on the bottom. The bread slices were moist on the inside and the crusts added a little bit of crispiness to the dish.Looked just like the picture. Rave reviews from husband, granddaughter and self on the taste.No improvements necessary for taste. Because of the calories however, this will be a special occasion dish. Very easy to prepare the evening before and that's very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was outstanding! We substituted a loaf of wheat bread and cut it up into bite-sized pieces instead of whole pieces. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogallala, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made this today for my family. I did double it to make sure there was enough. Well, while the taste was very good, way to soggy. Most definitely way too much butter. I did add less brown sugar and corn syrup, but, geez, butter bubbled everywhere!! Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
So easy and a great treat for overnight guests. They had no idea how truly easy it was to prepare and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This recipe is so easy and so delicious! I didnt have any grand marnier so I used amaretto and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I've made this 3 times and everyone who tries it absolutely loves it! I use the hawaiian sweet rolls and I use milk instead of half and half to cut the calories a bit and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This made a fabulous french toast for our family on Christmas morning. However, my son loves to cook and we made a few revisions that worked wonderfully. We did not bake it like a casserole -but only dipped our eggs and then pan-fried the toast. We went a little light on the sugar (1/2 cup), omitted the corn syrup (did not have any), and substituted orange flavoring for the orange liqueur. We used gluten free bread for those family members that are GF and then used regular bread for everyone else. The thing that made it special was my son also added about a tablespoon of pumpkin pie seasoning. It was awesome. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is one of my family's favorite breakfast recipies. It seems that I never make it the same way twice. There are a few things that I do consistently however... I make the Carmel sauce on the bottom per the recipe. I cut up the French bread into chunks. The egg mixture I have fun with. Today I used the 5 eggs, added a cup of milk plus a half a cup of eggnog because I had it in the house. I added triple sec, again because I had it. I added vanilla a couple shakes of cinnamon and beat well with my whisk and poured over the bread making sure all was saturated well. Baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Cut into squares and "flip" it over when serving so the Carmel is on top.... Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by visum4us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made this several times using Portuguese sweet bread. The only change I make is not using the corn syrup. It turns out perfect as written. When serving, I invert the slices so the caramel is on top as others suggested. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States