Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I love this recipe with a "FEW" changes/ 1. I used a very denies 7 grain bread with crust on. 2. 1/4 cup brown sugar with 2 TB honey 3. Unsweetened almond milk ( never use regular milk or heavier) don't even have it in the house. 4. Very genius portion of Grand Marine. Turned out very well - will make it again SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I peeled and slice apples on top of the brown sugar. Everything just melts in you mouth! Great for when all 4 of my daughters are home with their families..easy make ahead and breakfast is a breeze. I have also had it with sausage lunks cooked and extra grease taken off then layered in pieces on top of brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was definitely something I'll make again. Made a couple substitutions. Read reviews about reducing brown sugar and eggs. Used only 4 eggs and 3/4 cup brown sugar, also didn't have half and half so I used 3/4 cup heavy cream and 3/4 cup skim milk. Substituted orange liquor with Parrot Bay coconut rum. Cooked at 350 but last five minutes increased temp to 405. Also baked right after I made it. This was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
OMG! This is not your usual French Toast. This is just plain sinful and so good. Make sure your bread is thick and a day old very tasty. Put a little powdered sugar on top when serving then place strawberries on the side of the plate plate. I have no idea how many calories but who cares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
So good! What a delicious breakfast and we top with fresh berries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Wouldn't change a thing, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Fiske

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
When visiting my daughter years ago, she made this dish for us and it was delicious. I needed this receipe and it has been a big hit with visitors and family. It's crunchy, sweet and easy to make. Just love this dish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
So this is not really French toast. The name is very deceiving. French toast is a breakfast food. This is more like bread pudding. No shame in eating that for breakfast though. Loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Delicious. I made a lower cal version that was very good. Used sourdough bread with crust on, Splenda mix brown sugar, salted butter (and then did not add more salt), 1/2 cup nonfat milk and 1/2 cup half and half, sugar free maple syrup instead of the corn syrup, and 4 eggs. I definitely agree with those who say 5 eggs and 1 1/2 cup half and half is too much liquid. I was not able to get the topping crunchy like a creme brûlée even though I did flip it and put it under the broiler as many suggested. It may be due to using the Splenda brown sugar, which requires only 1/2 cup. All in all a great dessert and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States