Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mike Mellor
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Turned out great. I used 4 eggs instead of 5 like many of the reviews suggested. I didn't soak the bread but I did flip the bread half way through cooking. I also put the oven on broil for a few minutes after around 40 minutes and that worked out great. My wife thought it was too sweet but I reminded her that it was a creme brulee recipe and I'd try a different recipe if I wanted to cut back on the sugar. Overall it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Mellor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I just made this dish for my family, and it was a huge hit! I lieu of French bread, I used a thick baguette. I also baked it right away, only letting it soak in the custard for about 20 minutes. My only critique is that you don't need all of the custard- next time I'll use 4 eggs and 1/4 cup less of the cream. Other than that, it came out delicious! It's now in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I always have to make 2 batches at a time because it disappears so quickly. This is the most requested recipe for work potlucks. So easy to make. I usually use an electric knife to remove the entire crust from a loaf of French bread. Then I slice the bread into the required 1-inch thick-slices. The electric knife makes everything much easier. Because the bread needs to soak overnight, I just pop it in the oven while I'm getting ready for work and it's still warm when I serve it to co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Delicious! Will make again & again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
AWESOME recipe. I grated some orange peel also and let it sit over night. It made the orange flavor just explode. VERY filling. My Hubby said," This is SO GOOD! I should have eaten just one." I told him," You did eat just one."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This does actually taste like crème brulee, just a little more eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Very good, cook for 40 mins, and then put oven to 425 and cook till toast Browns. I also used maple syrup instead of corn syrup, and only 4 eggs. Also use 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Call me Sherlock. I just made this for my family, and contrary to most reviews, mine turned out dry on the top. It didn't totally ruin the dish though, after baking, I flipped each piece over in the pan so the tops were moist--and the flavor was wonderful. The important thing is that it made me realize why there were so many varying degrees of success with this recipe: It's not that there are too many eggs or too much milk or anything faulty with the recipe. It's the bread. I'm reading that some have used pre-sliced sourdough--I know the bread, and it's MAYBE 1/2" thick. The bread/liquid ratio is off, leaving a soggy, soupy mess. Others are using roughly 1 to 1-1/4" slices with great success. Me? I LOVE big, fat slices of French bread for my French toast, so I cut my slices at least 2" thick, making the bread to liquid ratio off again, only in the opposite direction. Mine was dry. To make matters worse, I had company for the weekend and wanted to make sure that I had enough French toast to serve for breakfast, so I squished and squeezed and pushed and pinched every slice of an entire loaf of bread into my 9"x13"--until I thought it was going to spring up and hit me in the face. Rookie move! I should have known better, but after enjoying the beautiful flavor of the dish, I know now that I can have my 2" giant slices, I just need to adjust the liquids to accommodate that preference. I may have to make it 2 mo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
No left over with this.... Don't be on a diet. Hehe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Branson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mr Mom
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Great recipe, very well received. Followed advice of other people and filled the pan with bread, used 4 eggs, used 2 tbs of grand mamarnier. Instead of flipping during baking, I poured 1/2 the butter mixture on the bottom of the pan and the other 1/2 on top of the bread. Great recipe and suggestions - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States