Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Everyone seemed to enjoy this! The only change I made is that I used only 4 eggs, like others suggested. Other than that I made the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made it just like it said and it was yummy deliciousness. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Excellent! I didn't have corn syrup so I just used some "pancake syrup" that I had in the cabinet. I also used two teaspoons of Grand Marnier because I just wanted to. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Addict

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this today gave it a a 3-star rating at best. I think my first mistake was cutting the brown sugar in half. I didn't get that wonderful sauce at the bottom of mine and I think that is why. Cutting she sugar to 3/4 a cup like others have done might work fine, but if I try this again, I'm going to start with the entire 1 cup (as excessively sweet as that may seem). I also got the eggy consistency that others have mentioned. My Mom's version didn't have this. I'm not sure why, but I'm guessing that I got this because my bread didn't completely cover the bottom of the baking dish. The next time I try this, I think I will completely cover every square inch of the dish as possible. That way the bread will absorb all of the egg mixture. The only other change I made (except halving the sugar and leaving the custs on) was using 1-2 tbs of orange juice instead of grand marnier because I didn't have it. But here is my main point: many reviewers are saying this is an easy or foolproof recipe. Perhaps if your cooking level is excellent, it is. But if your cooking level is any less than excellent, I would not experiment too much with this recipe the first time, except to leave the crusts on. This is a recipe where technique is essential for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I haven't finished trying variations, but, reduce by one egg and double the grand mariner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Everyone loved this recipe. I only wish I made doubles. They went FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Willems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was excellent! Made two batches and had company that loved it! There was none left and everyone raved about it. I did use Grand Marnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was pretty good and I guess I would make it again, but for a different "audience" . I cut the amount way down as it was just for my husband and I. Being so rich we could only eat a small amount. I think this is a "girly" breakfast being so sweet. Rather like eating a giant caramel roll. Might cut down on the brown sugar base next time and my feeling is it definitely needs a meat served with it to offset the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I made this and put it in the oven right away - no problems. I substituted honey for corn starch, and some baileys and whiskey for the orange liquor. I put 8 slices of regular wheat multigrain sliced bread (with crust on) in two layers in an 8"x8" pan. I flipped over the bread at the halfway point of 20 minutes. Not soggy or too egg-y. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Awesome Everyone loved it I used most of a French baguette cut into 1" slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States